HTTP 200 OK
Allow: GET, HEAD, OPTIONS
Content-Type: application/json
Vary: Accept
{
"count": 268,
"next": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/?format=api&ordering=initialHeaderLevel&page=6",
"previous": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/?format=api&ordering=initialHeaderLevel&page=4",
"results": [
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_diseases_cackle-fever/?format=api",
"name": "Cackle Fever",
"desc": "This disease targets humanoids, although gnomes are strangely immune. While in the grips of this disease, victims frequently succumb to fits of mad laughter, giving the disease its common name and its morbid nickname: “the shrieks.”\n\nSymptoms manifest 1d4 hours after infection and include fever and disorientation. The infected creature gains one level of exhaustion that can't be removed until the disease is cured.\n\nAny event that causes the infected creature great stress-including entering combat, taking damage, experiencing fear, or having a nightmare-forces the creature to make a DC 13 Constitution saving throw. On a failed save, the creature takes 5 (1d10) psychic damage and becomes incapacitated with mad laughter for 1 minute. The creature can repeat the saving throw at the end of each of its turns, ending the mad laughter and the incapacitated condition on a success.\n\nAny humanoid creature that starts its turn within 10 feet of an infected creature in the throes of mad laughter must succeed on a DC 10 Constitution saving throw or also become infected with the disease. Once a creature succeeds on this save, it is immune to the mad laughter of that particular infected creature for 24 hours.\n\nAt the end of each long rest, an infected creature can make a DC 13 Constitution saving throw. On a successful save, the DC for this save and for the save to avoid an attack of mad laughter drops by 1d6. When the saving throw DC drops to 0, the creature recovers from the disease. A creature that fails three of these saving throws gains a randomly determined form of indefinite madness, as described later in this chapter.",
"index": 2,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_diseases/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_diseases_sewer-plague/?format=api",
"name": "Sewer Plague",
"desc": "Sewer plague is a generic term for a broad category of illnesses that incubate in sewers, refuse heaps, and stagnant swamps, and which are sometimes transmitted by creatures that dwell in those areas, such as rats and otyughs.\n\nWhen a humanoid creature is bitten by a creature that carries the disease, or when it comes into contact with filth or offal contaminated by the disease, the creature must succeed on a DC 11 Constitution saving throw or become infected.\n\nIt takes 1d4 days for sewer plague's symptoms to manifest in an infected creature. Symptoms include fatigue and cramps. The infected creature suffers one level of exhaustion, and it regains only half the normal number of hit points from spending Hit Dice and no hit points from finishing a long rest.\n\nAt the end of each long rest, an infected creature must make a DC 11 Constitution saving throw. On a failed save, the character gains one level of exhaustion. On a successful save, the character's exhaustion level decreases by one level. If a successful saving throw reduces the infected creature's level of exhaustion below 1, the creature recovers from the disease.",
"index": 3,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_diseases/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_environment_blindsight/?format=api",
"name": "Blindsight",
"desc": "A creature with blindsight can perceive its surroundings without relyingon sight, within a specific radius. Creatures without eyes, such asoozes, and creatures with echolocation or heightened senses, such asbats and true dragons, have this sense.",
"index": 4,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_environment/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_environment_darkvision/?format=api",
"name": "Blindsight",
"desc": "Many creatures in fantasy gaming worlds, especially those that dwell underground, have darkvision. Within a specified range, a creature withdarkvision can see in darkness as if the darkness were dim light, soareas of darkness are only lightly obscured as far as that creature is concerned. However, the creature can't discern color in darkness, only shades of gray.",
"index": 5,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_environment/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_environment_truesight/?format=api",
"name": "Truesight",
"desc": "A creature with truesight can, out to a specific range, see in normal and magical darkness, see invisible creatures and objects,automatically detect visual illusions and succeed on saving throwsagainst them, and perceives the original form of a shapechanger or acreature that is transformed by magic. Furthermore, the creature can see into the Ethereal Plane.",
"index": 6,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_environment/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_expenses_food-drink-lodging/?format=api",
"name": "Food, Drink, and Lodging",
"desc": "The Food, Drink, and Lodging table gives prices for individual food items and a single night's lodging. These prices are included in your total lifestyle expenses.\n\n**Food, Drink, and Lodging (table)**\n\n| Item | Cost |\n|--------------------------|-------|\n| **_Ale_** | |\n| - Gallon | 2 sp |\n| - Mug | 4 cp |\n| Banquet (per person) | 10 gp |\n| Bread, loaf | 2 cp |\n| Cheese, hunk | 1 sp |\n| **_Inn stay (per day)_** | |\n| - Squalid | 7 cp |\n| - Poor | 1 sp |\n| - Modest | 5 sp |\n| - Comfortable | 8 sp |\n| - Wealthy | 2 gp |\n| - Aristocratic | 4 gp |\n| **_Meals (per day)_** | |\n| - Squalid | 3 cp |\n| - Poor | 6 cp |\n| - Modest | 3 sp |\n| - Comfortable | 5 sp |\n| - Wealthy | 8 sp |\n| - Aristocratic | 2 gp |\n| Meat, chunk | 3 sp |\n| **_Wine_** | |\n| - Common (pitcher) | 2 sp |\n| - Fine (bottle) | 10 gp |",
"index": 3,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_expenses/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_expenses_self-sufficiency/?format=api",
"name": "Self-Sufficiency",
"desc": "> The expenses and lifestyles described here assume that you are spending your time between adventures in town, availing yourself of whatever services you can afford-paying for food and shelter, paying townspeople to sharpen your sword and repair your armor, and so on. Some characters, though, might prefer to spend their time away from civilization, sustaining themselves in the wild by hunting, foraging, and repairing their own gear.\n>\n> Maintaining this kind of lifestyle doesn't require you to spend any coin, but it is time-consuming. If you spend your time between adventures practicing a profession, you can eke out the equivalent of a poor lifestyle. Proficiency in the Survival skill lets you live at the equivalent of a comfortable lifestyle.",
"index": 2,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_expenses/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_magic-items_charges/?format=api",
"name": "Charges",
"desc": "Some magic items have charges that must be expended to activate their properties. The number of charges an item has remaining is revealed when an identify spell is cast on it, as well as when a creature attunes to it. Additionally, when an item regains charges, the creature attuned to it learns how many charges it regained.",
"index": 9,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_magic-items/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_magic-items_command-word/?format=api",
"name": "Command Word",
"desc": "A command word is a word or phrase that must be spoken for an item to work. A magic item that requires a command word can’t be activated in an area where sound is prevented, as in the area of the silence spell.",
"index": 6,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_magic-items/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_magic-items_consumables/?format=api",
"name": "Consumables",
"desc": "Some items are used up when they are activated. A potion or an elixir must be swallowed, or an oil applied to the body. The writing vanishes from a scroll when it is read. Once used, a consumable item loses its magic.",
"index": 7,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_magic-items/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_magic-items_creating-sentient-magic-items/?format=api",
"name": "Creating Sentient Magic Items",
"desc": "When you decide to make a magic item sentient, you create the item’s persona in the same way you would create an NPC, with a few exceptions described here.\n\n## Abilities\n\nA sentient magic item has Intelligence, Wisdom, and Charisma scores. You can choose the item’s abilities or determine them randomly. To determine them randomly, roll 4d6 for each one, dropping the lowest roll and totaling the rest.\n\n## Communication\n\nA sentient item has some ability to communicate, either by sharing its emotions, broadcasting its thoughts telepathically, or speaking aloud. You can choose how it communicates or roll on the following table.\n\n| d100 | Communication |\n|--------|-----------------------|\n| 01–60 | The item communicates by transmitting emotion to the creature carrying or wielding it. |\n| 61–90 | The item can speak, read, and understand one or more languages. |\n| 91–00 | The item can speak, read, and understand one or more languages. In addition, the item can communicate telepathically with any character that carries or wields it. |\n\n## Senses\n\nWith sentience comes awareness. A sentient item can perceive its surroundings out to a limited range. You can choose its senses or roll on the following table.\n\n| d4 | Senses |\n|-----|------------|\n| 1 | Hearing and normal vision out to 30 feet. |\n| 2 | Hearing and normal vision out to 60 feet |\n| 3 | Hearing and normal vision out to 120 feet. |\n| 4 | Hearing and darkvision out to 120 feet. |\n\n## Alignment\n\nA sentient magic item has an alignment. Its creator or nature might suggest an alignment. If not, you can pick an alignment or roll on the following table.\n\n| d100 | Alignment |\n|--------|---------------|\n| 01–15 | Lawful good |\n| 16–35 | Neutral good |\n| 36–50 | Chaotic good |\n| 51–63 | Lawful neutral |\n| 64–73 | Neutral |\n| 74–85 | Chaotic neutral |\n| 86–89 | Lawful evil |\n| 90–96 | Neutral evil |\n| 97–00 | Chaotic evil |\n\n ## Special Purpose\n\nYou can give a sentient item an objective it pursues, perhaps to the exclusion of all else. As long as the wielder’s use of the item aligns with that special purpose, the item remains cooperative. Deviating from this course might cause conflict between the wielder and the item, and could even cause the item to prevent the use of its activated properties. You can pick a special purpose or roll on the following table.\n\n| d10 | Purpose |\n|-------|-------------|\n| 1 | *Aligned:* The item seeks to defeat or destroy those of a diametrically opposed alignment. (Such an item is never neutral.) |\n| 2 | *Bane:* The item seeks to defeat or destroy creatures of a particular kind, such as fiends, shapechangers, trolls, or wizards. |\n| 3 | *Protector:* The item seeks to defend a particular race or kind of creature, such as elves or druids. |\n| 4 | *Crusader:* The item seeks to defeat, weaken, or destroy the servants of a particular deity. |\n| 5 | *Templar:* The item seeks to defend the servants and interests of a particular deity. |\n| 6 | *Destroyer:* The item craves destruction and goads its user to fight arbitrarily. |\n| 7 | *Glory Seeker:* The item seeks renown as the greatest magic item in the world, by establishing its user as a famous or notorious figure. |\n| 8 | *Lore Seeker:* The item craves knowledge or is determined to solve a mystery, learn a secret, or unravel a cryptic prophecy. |\n| 9 | *Destiny Seeker:* The item is convinced that it and its wielder have key roles to play in future events. |\n| 10 | *Creator Seeker:* The item seeks its creator and wants to understand why it was created. |",
"index": 11,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_magic-items/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_magic-items_multiple-items-of-same-kind/?format=api",
"name": "Multiple Items of the Same Kind",
"desc": "Use common sense to determine whether more than one of a given kind of magic item can be worn. A character can’t normally wear more than one pair of footwear, one pair of gloves or gauntlets, one pair of bracers, one suit of armor, one item of headwear, and one cloak. You can make exceptions; a character might be able to wear a circlet under a helmet, for example, or to layer two cloaks.",
"index": 3,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_magic-items/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_magic-items_paired-items/?format=api",
"name": "Paired Items",
"desc": "Items that come in pairs—such as boots, bracers, gauntlets, and gloves—impart their benefits only if both items of the pair are worn. For example, a character wearing a boot of striding and springing on one foot and a boot of elvenkind on the other foot gains no benefit from either.",
"index": 4,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_magic-items/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_magic-items_sentient-magic-items/?format=api",
"name": "Sentient Magic Items",
"desc": "Some magic items possess sentience and personality. Such an item might be possessed, haunted by the spirit of a previous owner, or self-aware thanks to the magic used to create it. In any case, the item behaves like a character, complete with personality quirks, ideals, bonds, and sometimes flaws. A sentient item might be a cherished ally to its wielder or a continual thorn in the side.\n\nMost sentient items are weapons. Other kinds of items can manifest sentience, but consumable items such as potions and scrolls are never sentient.\n\nSentient magic items function as NPCs under the GM’s control. Any activated property of the item is under the item’s control, not its wielder’s. As long as the wielder maintains a good relationship with the item, the wielder can access those properties normally. If the relationship is strained, the item can suppress its activated properties or even turn them against the wielder.",
"index": 10,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_magic-items/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_magic-items_spells/?format=api",
"name": "Consumables",
"desc": "Some magic items allow the user to cast a spell from the item. The spell is cast at the lowest possible spell level, doesn’t expend any of the user’s spell slots, and requires no components, unless the item’s description says otherwise. The spell uses its normal casting time, range, and duration, and the user of the item must concentrate if the spell requires concentration. Many items, such as potions, bypass the casting of a spell and confer the spell’s effects, with their usual duration. Certain items make exceptions to these rules, changing the casting time, duration, or other parts of a spell.\n\nA magic item, such as certain staffs, may require you to use your own spellcasting ability when you cast a spell from the item. If you have more than one spellcasting ability, you choose which one to use with the item. If you don’t have a spellcasting ability—perhaps you’re a rogue with the Use Magic Device feature—your spellcasting ability modifier is +0 for the item, and your proficiency bonus does apply.",
"index": 8,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_magic-items/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_ammunition/?format=api",
"name": "Ammunition",
"desc": "A monster carries enough ammunition to make its ranged attacks. You can assume that a monster has 2d4 pieces of ammunition for a thrown weapon attack, and 2d10 pieces of ammunition for a projectile weapon such as a bow or crossbow.",
"index": 28,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_armor-weapon-tool-proficiencies/?format=api",
"name": "Armor, Weapon and Tool Proficiency",
"desc": "Assume that a creature is proficient with its armor, weapons, and tools. If you swap them out, you decide whether the creature is proficient with its new equipment.\n\nFor example, a hill giant typically wears hide armor and wields a greatclub. You could equip a hill giant with chain mail and a greataxe instead, and assume the giant is proficient with both, one or the other, or neither.\n\nSee the *Player’s Handbook* for rules on using armor or weapons without proficiency.",
"index": 13,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_equipment/?format=api",
"name": "Equipment",
"desc": "A stat block rarely refers to equipment, other than armor or weapons used by a monster. A creature that customarily wears clothes, such as a humanoid, is assumed to be dressed appropriately.\n\nYou can equip monsters with additional gear and trinkets however you like, and you decide how much of a monster’s equipment is recoverable after the creature is slain and whether any of that equipment is still usable. A battered suit of armor made for a monster is rarely usable by someone else, for instance.\n\nIf a spellcasting monster needs material components to cast its spells, assume that it has the material components it needs to cast the spells in its stat block.",
"index": 32,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_experience-points/?format=api",
"name": "Experience Points",
"desc": "The number of experience points (XP) a monster is worth is based on its challenge rating. Typically, XP is awarded for defeating the monster, although the GM may also award XP for neutralizing the threat posed by the monster in some other manner.\n\nUnless something tells you otherwise, a monster summoned by a spell or other magical ability is worth the XP noted in its stat block.",
"index": 19,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_grapple-rules/?format=api",
"name": "Grapple Rules for Monsters",
"desc": "Many monsters have special attacks that allow them to quickly grapple prey. When a monster hits with such an attack, it doesn’t need to make an additional ability check to determine whether the grapple succeeds, unless the attack says otherwise.\n\nA creature grappled by the monster can use its action to try to escape. To do so, it must succeed on a Strength (Athletics) or Dexterity (Acrobatics) check against the escape DC in the monster’s stat block. If no escape DC is given, assume the DC is 10 + the monster’s Strength (Athletics) modifier.",
"index": 31,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_innate-spellcasting/?format=api",
"name": "Innate Spellcasting",
"desc": "A monster with the innate ability to cast spells has the Innate Spellcasting special trait. Unless noted otherwise, an innate spell of 1st level or higher is always cast at its lowest possible level and can’t be cast at a higher level. If a monster has a cantrip where its level matters and no level is given, use the monster’s challenge rating.\n\nAn innate spell can have special rules or restrictions. For example, a drow mage can innately cast the *levitate* spell, but the spell has a “self only” restriction, which means that the spell affects only the drow mage.\n\nA monster’s innate spells can’t be swapped out with other spells. If a monster’s innate spells don’t require attack rolls, no attack bonus is given for them.",
"index": 22,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_lair-actions/?format=api",
"name": "Lair Actions",
"desc": "If a legendary creature has lair actions, it can use them to harness the ambient magic in its lair. On initiative count 20 (losing all initiative ties), it can use one of its lair action options. It can’t do so while incapacitated or otherwise unable to take actions. If surprised, it can’t use one until after its first turn in the combat.",
"index": 36,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_legendary-actions/?format=api",
"name": "Legendary Actions",
"desc": "A legendary creature can take a certain number of special actions—called legendary actions—outside its turn. Only one legendary action option can be used at a time and only at the end of another creature’s turn. A creature regains its spent legendary actions at the start of its turn. It can forgo using them, and it can’t use them while incapacitated or otherwise unable to take actions. If surprised, it can’t use them until after its first turn in the combat.",
"index": 34,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_legendary-creatures-lair/?format=api",
"name": "Legendary Creature’s Lair",
"desc": "A legendary creature might have a section describing its lair and the special effects it can create while there, either by act of will or simply by being present. Such a section applies only to a legendary creature that spends a great deal of time in its lair.",
"index": 35,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_melee-and-ranged-attacks/?format=api",
"name": "Melee and Ranged Attacks",
"desc": "The most common actions that a monster will take in combat are melee and ranged attacks. These can be spell attacks or weapon attacks, where the “weapon” might be a manufactured item or a natural weapon, such as a claw or tail spike. For more information on different kinds of attacks, see the *Player’s Handbook*.\n\n***Creature vs. Target.*** The target of a melee or ranged attack is usually either one creature or one target, the difference being that a “target” can be a creature or an object.\n\n***Hit.*** Any damage dealt or other effects that occur as a result of an attack hitting a target are described after the \"*Hit*\" notation. You have the option of taking average damage or rolling the damage; for this reason, both the average damage and the die expression are presented.\n\n***Miss.*** If an attack has an effect that occurs on a miss, that information is presented after the \"*Miss:*\" notation.",
"index": 26,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_multiattack/?format=api",
"name": "Multiattack",
"desc": "A creature that can make multiple attacks on its turn has the Multiattack action. A creature can’t use Multiattack when making an opportunity attack, which must be a single melee attack.",
"index": 27,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_psionics/?format=api",
"name": "Psionics",
"desc": "A monster that casts spells using only the power of its mind has the psionics tag added to its Spellcasting or Innate Spellcasting special trait. This tag carries no special rules of its own, but other parts of the game might refer to it. A monster that has this tag typically doesn’t require any components to cast its spells.",
"index": 24,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_regional-effects/?format=api",
"name": "Regional Effects",
"desc": "The mere presence of a legendary creature can have strange and wondrous effects on its environment, as noted in this section. Regional effects end abruptly or dissipate over time when the legendary creature dies.",
"index": 37,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_spellcasting/?format=api",
"name": "Spellcasting",
"desc": "A monster with the Spellcasting special trait has a spellcaster level and spell slots, which it uses to cast its spells of 1st level and higher (as explained in the *Player’s Handbook*). The spellcaster level is also used for any cantrips included in the feature.\n\nThe monster has a list of spells known or prepared from a specific class. The list might also include spells from a feature in that class, such as the Divine Domain feature of the cleric or the Druid Circle feature of the druid. The monster is considered a member of that class when attuning to or using a magic item that requires membership in the class or access to its spell list.\n\nA monster can cast a spell from its list at a higher level if it has the spell slot to do so. For example, a drow mage with the 3rd-level *lightning bolt* spell can cast it as a 5th-level spell by using one of its 5th-level spell slots.\n\nYou can change the spells that a monster knows or has prepared, replacing any spell on its spell list with a spell of the same level and from the same class list. If you do so, you might cause the monster to be a greater or lesser threat than suggested by its challenge rating.",
"index": 23,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_tags/?format=api",
"name": "Tags",
"desc": "A monster might have one or more tags appended to its type, in parentheses. For example, an orc has the *humanoid (orc)* type. The parenthetical tags provide additional categorization for certain creatures. The tags have no rules of their own, but something in the game, such as a magic item, might refer to them. For instance, a spear that is especially effective at fighting demons would work against any monster that has the demon tag.",
"index": 3,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_telepathy/?format=api",
"name": "Telepathy",
"desc": "Telepathy is a magical ability that allows a monster to communicate mentally with another creature within a specified range. The contacted creature doesn’t need to share a language with the monster to communicate in this way with it, but it must be able to understand at least one language. A creature without telepathy can receive and respond to telepathic messages but can’t initiate or terminate a telepathic conversation.\n\nA telepathic monster doesn’t need to see a contacted creature and can end the telepathic contact at any time. The contact is broken as soon as the two creatures are no longer within range of each other or if the telepathic monster contacts a different creature within range. A telepathic monster can initiate or terminate a telepathic conversation without using an action, but while the monster is incapacitated, it can’t initiate telepathic contact, and any current contact is terminated.\n\nA creature within the area of an *antimagic field* or in any other location where magic doesn’t function can’t send or receive telepathic messages.",
"index": 17,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_movement_climbing-swimming-crawling/?format=api",
"name": "Climbing, Swimming and Crawling",
"desc": "While climbing or swimming, each foot of movement costs 1 extra foot (2extra feet in difficult terrain), unless a creature has a climbing orswimming speed. At the GM's option, climbing a slippery vertical surfaceor one with few handholds requires a successful Strength (Athletics) check. Similarly, gaining any distance in rough water might require asuccessful Strength (Athletics) check.",
"index": 5,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_movement/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_movement_difficult-terrain/?format=api",
"name": "Difficult Terrain",
"desc": "The travel speeds given in the Travel Pace table assume relativelysimple terrain: roads, open plains, or clear dungeon corridors. But adventurers often face dense forests, deep swamps, rubble-filled ruins, steep mountains, and ice-covered ground---all considered difficult terrain.\n\nYou move at half speed in difficult terrain---moving 1 foot in difficult terrain costs 2 feet of speed---so you can cover only half the normal distance in a minute, an hour, or a day.",
"index": 3,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_movement/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_movement_jumping/?format=api",
"name": "Jumping",
"desc": "Your Strength determines how far you can jump.\n\n**Long Jump.** When you make a long jump, you cover a number of feet upto your Strength score if you move at least 10 feet on foot immediatelybefore the jump. When you make a standing long jump, you can leap onlyhalf that distance. Either way, each foot you clear on the jump costs afoot of movement.\nThis rule assumes that the height of your jump doesn't matter, such as ajump across a stream or chasm. At your GM's option, you must succeed ona DC 10 Strength (Athletics) check to clear a low obstacle (no tallerthan a quarter of the jump's distance), such as a hedge or low wall.\nOtherwise, you hit it.\nWhen you land in difficult terrain, you must succeed on a DC 10Dexterity (Acrobatics) check to land on your feet. Otherwise, you landprone.\n\n**High Jump.** When you make a high jump, you leap into the air a numberof feet equal to 3 + your Strength modifier if you move at least 10 feeton foot immediately before the jump. When you make a standing high jump,you can jump only half that distance. Either way, each foot you clear onthe jump costs a foot of movement. In some circumstances, your GM mightallow you to make a Strength (Athletics) check to jump higher than younormally can.\nYou can extend your arms half your height above yourself during thejump. Thus, you can reach above you a distance equal to the height ofthe jump plus 1½ times your height.",
"index": 6,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_movement/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_movement_travel-pace/?format=api",
"name": "Travel Pace",
"desc": "While traveling, a group of adventurers can move at a normal, fast, orslow pace, as shown on the Travel Pace table. The table states how farthe party can move in a period of time and whether the pace has anyeffect. A fast pace makes characters less perceptive, while a slow pacemakes it possible to sneak around and to search an area more carefully.\n\n**Forced March.** The Travel Pace table assumes that characters travelfor 8 hours in day. They can push on beyond that limit, at the risk of exhaustion.\n\nFor each additional hour of travel beyond 8 hours, the characters coverthe distance shown in the Hour column for their pace, and each charactermust make a Constitution saving throw at the end of the hour. The DC is 10 + 1 for each hour past 8 hours. On a failed saving throw, a charactersuffers one level of exhaustion.\n\n**Mounts and Vehicles.** For short spans of time (up to an hour), many animals move much faster than humanoids. A mounted character can ride at a gallop for about an hour, covering twice the usual distance for a fastpace. If fresh mounts are available every 8 to 10 miles, characters cancover larger distances at this pace, but this is very rare except indensely populated areas.\nCharacters in wagons, carriages, or other land vehicles choose a pace asnormal. Characters in a waterborne vessel are limited to the speed ofthe vessel, and they don't suffer penalties for a fast pace or gainbenefits from a slow pace. Depending on the vessel and the size of thecrew, ships might be able to travel for up to 24 hours per day.\nCertain special mounts, such as a pegasus or griffon, or specialvehicles, such as a carpet of flying, allow you to travel more swiftly.",
"index": 2,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_movement/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_planes_demiplanes/?format=api",
"name": "Demiplanes",
"desc": "Demiplanes are small extradimensional spaces with their own unique rules. They are pieces of reality that don't seem to fit anywhere else. Demiplanes come into being by a variety of means. Some are created by spells, such as _demiplane_, or generated at the desire of a powerful deity or other force. They may exist naturally, as a fold of existing reality that has been pinched off from the rest of the multiverse, or as a baby universe growing in power. A given demiplane can be entered through a single point where it touches another plane. Theoretically, a _plane shift_ spell can also carry travelers to a demiplane, but the proper frequency required for the tuning fork is extremely hard to acquire. The _gate_ spell is more reliable, assuming the caster knows of the demiplane.",
"index": 7,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_planes/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_race_ability-score-increases/?format=api",
"name": "Ability Score Increases",
"desc": "Every race increases one or more of a character’s ability scores.",
"index": 2,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_races/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_race_age/?format=api",
"name": "Age",
"desc": "The age entry notes the age when a member of the race is considered an adult, as well as the race’s expected lifespan. This information can help you decide how old your character is at the start of the game. You can choose any age for your character, which could provide an explanation for some of your ability scores. For example, if you play a young or very old character, your age could explain a particularly low Strength or Constitution score, while advanced age could account for a high Intelligence or Wisdom.",
"index": 3,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_races/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_race_alignment/?format=api",
"name": "Alignment",
"desc": "Most races have tendencies toward certain alignments, described in this entry. These are not binding for player characters, but considering why your dwarf is chaotic, for example, in defiance of lawful dwarf society can help you better define your character.",
"index": 4,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_races/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_race_languages/?format=api",
"name": "Languages",
"desc": "By virtue of your race, your character can speak, read, and write certain languages.",
"index": 7,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_races/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_race_size/?format=api",
"name": "Size",
"desc": "Characters of most races are Medium, a size category including creatures that are roughly 4 to 8 feet tall. Members of a few races are Small (between 2 and 4 feet tall), which means that certain rules of the game affect them differently. The most important of these rules is that Small characters have trouble wielding heavy weapons, as explained in \"Equipment.\"",
"index": 5,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_races/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_race_speed/?format=api",
"name": "Speed",
"desc": "Your speed determines how far you can move when traveling ( \"Adventuring\") and fighting (\"Combat\").",
"index": 6,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_races/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_race_subraces/?format=api",
"name": "Subraces",
"desc": "Some races have subraces. Members of a subrace have the traits of the parent race in addition to the traits specified for their subrace. Relationships among subraces vary significantly from race to race and world to world.",
"index": 8,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_races/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_spellcasting_bonus-action/?format=api",
"name": "Bonus Action",
"desc": "A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven't already taken a bonus action this turn. You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.",
"index": 11,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_spellcasting/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_spellcasting_casting-a-spell-at-higher-level/?format=api",
"name": "Casting a Spell at a Higher Level",
"desc": "When a spellcaster casts a spell using a slot that is of a higher level than the spell, the spell assumes the higher level for that casting. For instance, if Umara casts _magic missile_ using one of her 2nd-level slots, that _magic missile_ is 2nd level. Effectively, the spell expands to fill the slot it is put into.\n\nSome spells, such as _magic missile_ and _cure wounds_, have more powerful effects when cast at a higher level, as detailed in a spell's description.",
"index": 5,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_spellcasting/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_spellcasting_longer-casting-times/?format=api",
"name": "Longer Casting Times",
"desc": "Certain spells (including spells cast as rituals) require more time to cast: minutes or even hours. When you cast a spell with a casting time longer than a single action or reaction, you must spend your action each turn casting the spell, and you must maintain your concentration while you do so (see “Concentration” below). If your concentration is broken, the spell fails, but you don't expend a spell slot. If you want to try casting the spell again, you must start over.",
"index": 13,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_spellcasting/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_spellcasting_reactions/?format=api",
"name": "Bonus Action",
"desc": "Some spells can be cast as reactions. These spells take a fraction of a second to bring about and are cast in response to some event. If a spell can be cast as a reaction, the spell description tells you exactly when you can do so.",
"index": 12,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_spellcasting/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_spellcasting_spell-range/?format=api",
"name": "Spell Range",
"desc": "The target of a spell must be within the spell's range. For a spell like _magic missile_, the target is a creature. For a spell like _fireball_, the target is the point in space where the ball of fire erupts.\n\nMost spells have ranges expressed in feet. Some spells can target only a creature (including you) that you touch. Other spells, such as the _shield_ spell, affect only you. These spells have a range of self.\n\nSpells that create cones or lines of effect that originate from you also have a range of self, indicating that the origin point of the spell's effect must be you (see “Areas of Effect” later in the this chapter).\n\nOnce a spell is cast, its effects aren't limited by its range, unless the spell's description says otherwise.",
"index": 14,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_spellcasting/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_traps_collapsing-roof/?format=api",
"name": "Collapsing Roof",
"desc": "_Mechanical trap_\n\nThis trap uses a trip wire to collapse the supports keeping an unstable section of a ceiling in place.\n\nThe trip wire is 3 inches off the ground and stretches between two support beams. The DC to spot the trip wire is 10. A successful DC 15 Dexterity check using thieves' tools disables the trip wire harmlessly. A character without thieves' tools can attempt this check with disadvantage using any edged weapon or edged tool. On a failed check, the trap triggers.\n\nAnyone who inspects the beams can easily determine that they are merely wedged in place. As an action, a character can knock over a beam, causing the trap to trigger.\n\nThe ceiling above the trip wire is in bad repair, and anyone who can see it can tell that it's in danger of collapse.\n\nWhen the trap is triggered, the unstable ceiling collapses. Any creature in the area beneath the unstable section must succeed on a DC 15 Dexterity saving throw, taking 22 (4d10) bludgeoning damage on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one. Once the trap is triggered, the floor of the area is filled with rubble and becomes difficult terrain.",
"index": 7,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_traps/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_traps_complex-traps/?format=api",
"name": "Complex Traps",
"desc": "Complex traps work like standard traps, except once activated they execute a series of actions each round. A complex trap turns the process of dealing with a trap into something more like a combat encounter.\n\nWhen a complex trap activates, it rolls initiative. The trap's description includes an initiative bonus. On its turn, the trap activates again, often taking an action. It might make successive attacks against intruders, create an effect that changes over time, or otherwise produce a dynamic challenge. Otherwise, the complex trap can be detected and disabled or bypassed in the usual ways.\n\nFor example, a trap that causes a room to slowly flood works best as a complex trap. On the trap's turn, the water level rises. After several rounds, the room is completely flooded.",
"index": 5,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_traps/?format=api"
}
]
}