HTTP 200 OK
Allow: GET, HEAD, OPTIONS
Content-Type: application/json
Vary: Accept
{
"count": 227,
"next": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/?format=api&ordering=name&page=2",
"previous": null,
"results": [
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_abilities_ability-checks/?format=api",
"name": "Ability Checks",
"desc": "An ability check tests a character's or monster's innate talent and training in an effort to overcome a challenge. The GM calls for an ability check when a character or monster attempts an action (other than an attack) that has a chance of failure. When the outcome is uncertain, the dice determine the results.\n\nFor every ability check, the GM decides which of the six abilities is relevant to the task at hand and the difficulty of the task, represented by a Difficulty Class.\n\nThe more difficult a task, the higher its DC. The Typical Difficulty Classes table shows the most common DCs.\n\nTo make an ability check, roll a d20 and add the relevant ability modifier. As with other d20 rolls, apply bonuses and penalties, and compare the total to the DC. If the total equals or exceeds the DC, the ability check is a success---the creature overcomes the challenge at hand. Otherwise, it's a failure, which means the character or monster makes no progress toward the objective or makes progress combined with a setback determined by the GM.",
"index": 4,
"initialHeaderLevel": 2,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_abilities/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_ability-scores/?format=api",
"name": "Ability Score",
"desc": "Every monster has six ability scores (Strength, Dexterity, Constitution, Intelligence, Wisdom, and Charisma) and corresponding modifiers. For more information on ability scores and how they’re used in play, see the *Player’s Handbook*.",
"index": 9,
"initialHeaderLevel": 2,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_race_ability-score-increases/?format=api",
"name": "Ability Score Increases",
"desc": "Every race increases one or more of a character’s ability scores.",
"index": 2,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_races/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_abilities_ability-scores-and-modifiers/?format=api",
"name": "Ability Scores and Modifiers",
"desc": "Each of a creature's abilities has a score, a number that defines the magnitude of that ability. An ability score is not just a measure of innate capabilities, but also encompasses a creature's training and competence in activities related to that ability.\n\nA score of 10 or 11 is the normal human average, but adventurers and many monsters are a cut above average in most abilities. A score of 18 is the highest that a person usually reaches. Adventurers can have scores as high as 20, and monsters and divine beings can have scores as high as 30.\n\nEach ability also has a modifier, derived from the score and ranging from -5 (for an ability score of 1) to +10 (for a score of 30). The Ability Scores and Modifiers table notes the ability modifiers for the range of possible ability scores, from 1 to 30.\n\n To determine an ability modifier without consulting the table, subtract 10 from the ability score and then divide the total by 2 (round down).\n\n Because ability modifiers affect almost every attack roll, ability check, and saving throw, ability modifiers come up in play more often than their associated scores.",
"index": 1,
"initialHeaderLevel": 2,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_abilities/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_actions/?format=api",
"name": "Actions",
"desc": "When a monster takes its action, it can choose from the options in the Actions section of its stat block or use one of the actions available to all creatures, such as the Dash or Hide action, as described in the *Player’s Handbook*.",
"index": 25,
"initialHeaderLevel": 2,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_magic-items_activating-an-item/?format=api",
"name": "Activating an Item",
"desc": "Activating some magic items requires a user to do something special, such as holding the item and uttering a command word. The description of each item category or individual item details how an item is activated. Certain items use the following rules for their activation.\n\nIf an item requires an action to activate, that action isn’t a function of the Use an Item action, so a feature such as the rogue’s Fast Hands can’t be used to activate the item.",
"index": 5,
"initialHeaderLevel": 2,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_magic-items/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_abilities_advantage-and-disadvantage/?format=api",
"name": "Advantage and Disadvantage",
"desc": "Sometimes a special ability or spell tells you that you have advantage or disadvantage on an ability check, a saving throw, or an attack roll.\nWhen that happens, you roll a second d20 when you make the roll. Use the higher of the two rolls if you have advantage, and use the lower roll if you have disadvantage. For example, if you have disadvantage and roll a 17 and a 5, you use the 5. If you instead have advantage and roll those numbers, you use the 17.\n\nIf multiple situations affect a roll and each one grants advantage or imposes disadvantage on it, you don't roll more than one additional d20.\nIf two favorable situations grant advantage, for example, you still roll only one additional d20.\n\nIf circumstances cause a roll to have both advantage and disadvantage, you are considered to have neither of them, and you roll one d20. This is true even if multiple circumstances impose disadvantage and only one grants advantage or vice versa. In such a situation, you have neither advantage nor disadvantage.\n\nWhen you have advantage or disadvantage and something in the game, such as the halfling's Lucky trait, lets you reroll the d20, you can reroll only one of the dice. You choose which one. For example, if a halfling has advantage or disadvantage on an ability check and rolls a 1 and a 13, the halfling could use the Lucky trait to reroll the 1.\n\nYou usually gain advantage or disadvantage through the use of special abilities, actions, or spells. Inspiration can also give a character advantage. The GM can also decide that circumstances influence a roll in one direction or the other and grant advantage or impose disadvantage as a result.",
"index": 2,
"initialHeaderLevel": 2,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_abilities/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_race_age/?format=api",
"name": "Age",
"desc": "The age entry notes the age when a member of the race is considered an adult, as well as the race’s expected lifespan. This information can help you decide how old your character is at the start of the game. You can choose any age for your character, which could provide an explanation for some of your ability scores. For example, if you play a young or very old character, your age could explain a particularly low Strength or Constitution score, while advanced age could account for a high Intelligence or Wisdom.",
"index": 3,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_races/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_alignment/?format=api",
"name": "Alignment",
"desc": "A monster’s alignment provides a clue to its disposition and how it behaves in a roleplaying or combat situation. For example, a chaotic evil monster might be difficult to reason with and might attack characters on sight, whereas a neutral monster might be willing to negotiate. See the *Player’s Handbook* for descriptions of the different alignments.\n\nThe alignment specified in a monster’s stat block is the default. Feel free to depart from it and change a monster’s alignment to suit the needs of your campaign. If you want a good-aligned green dragon or an evil storm giant, there’s nothing stopping you.\n\nSome creatures can have **any alignment**. In other words, you choose the monster’s alignment. Some monster’s alignment entry indicates a tendency or aversion toward law, chaos, good, or evil. For example, a berserker can be any chaotic alignment (chaotic good, chaotic neutral, or chaotic evil), as befits its wild nature.\n\nMany creatures of low intelligence have no comprehension of law or chaos, good or evil. They don’t make moral or ethical choices, but rather act on instinct. These creatures are **unaligned**, which means they don’t have an alignment.",
"index": 4,
"initialHeaderLevel": 2,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_race_alignment/?format=api",
"name": "Alignment",
"desc": "Most races have tendencies toward certain alignments, described in this entry. These are not binding for player characters, but considering why your dwarf is chaotic, for example, in defiance of lawful dwarf society can help you better define your character.",
"index": 4,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_races/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_alignment_alignment-in-the-multiverse/?format=api",
"name": "Alignment in the Multiverse",
"desc": "For many thinking creatures, alignment is a moral choice. Humans, dwarves, elves, and other humanoid races can choose whether to follow the paths of good or evil, law or chaos. According to myth, the good- aligned gods who created these races gave them free will to choose their moral paths, knowing that good without free will is slavery.\n\nThe evil deities who created other races, though, made those races to serve them. Those races have strong inborn tendencies that match the nature of their gods. Most orcs share the violent, savage nature of the orc gods, and are thus inclined toward evil. Even if an orc chooses a good alignment, it struggles against its innate tendencies for its entire life. (Even half-orcs feel the lingering pull of the orc god's influence.)\n\nAlignment is an essential part of the nature of celestials and fiends. A devil does not choose to be lawful evil, and it doesn't tend toward lawful evil, but rather it is lawful evil in its essence. If it somehow ceased to be lawful evil, it would cease to be a devil.\n\nMost creatures that lack the capacity for rational thought do not have alignments-they are **unaligned**. Such a creature is incapable of making a moral or ethical choice and acts according to its bestial nature. Sharks are savage predators, for example, but they are not evil; they have no alignment.",
"index": 1,
"initialHeaderLevel": 2,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_alignment/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_ammunition/?format=api",
"name": "Ammunition",
"desc": "A monster carries enough ammunition to make its ranged attacks. You can assume that a monster has 2d4 pieces of ammunition for a thrown weapon attack, and 2d10 pieces of ammunition for a projectile weapon such as a bow or crossbow.",
"index": 28,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_reactions/?format=api",
"name": "Ammunition",
"desc": "If a monster can do something special with its reaction, that information is contained here. If a creature has no special reaction, this section is absent.",
"index": 29,
"initialHeaderLevel": 2,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_spellcasting_areas-of-effect/?format=api",
"name": "Areas of Effect",
"desc": "Spells such as _burning hands_ and _cone of cold_ cover an area, allowing them to affect multiple creatures at once.\n\nA spell's description specifies its area of effect, which typically has one of five different shapes: cone, cube, cylinder, line, or sphere. Every area of effect has a **point of origin**, a location from which the spell's energy erupts. The rules for each shape specify how you position its point of origin. Typically, a point of origin is a point in space, but some spells have an area whose origin is a creature or an object.\n\nA spell's effect expands in straight lines from the point of origin. If no unblocked straight line extends from the point of origin to a location within the area of effect, that location isn't included in the spell's area. To block one of these imaginary lines, an obstruction must provide total cover.\n\n### Cone\n\nA cone extends in a direction you choose from its point of origin. A cone's width at a given point along its length is equal to that point's distance from the point of origin. A cone's area of effect specifies its maximum length.\n\nA cone's point of origin is not included in the cone's area of effect, unless you decide otherwise.\n\n### Cube\n\nYou select a cube's point of origin, which lies anywhere on a face of the cubic effect. The cube's size is expressed as the length of each side.\n\nA cube's point of origin is not included in the cube's area of effect, unless you decide otherwise.\n\n### Cylinder\n\nA cylinder's point of origin is the center of a circle of a particular radius, as given in the spell description. The circle must either be on the ground or at the height of the spell effect. The energy in a cylinder expands in straight lines from the point of origin to the perimeter of the circle, forming the base of the cylinder. The spell's effect then shoots up from the base or down from the top, to a distance equal to the height of the cylinder.\n\nA cylinder's point of origin is included in the cylinder's area of effect.\n\n### Line\n\nA line extends from its point of origin in a straight path up to its length and covers an area defined by its width.\n\nA line's point of origin is not included in the line's area of effect, unless you decide otherwise.\n\n### Sphere\n\nYou select a sphere's point of origin, and the sphere extends outward from that point. The sphere's size is expressed as a radius in feet that extends from the point.\n\nA sphere's point of origin is included in the sphere's area of effect.\n\n## Spell Saving Throws\n\nMany spells specify that a target can make a saving throw to avoid some or all of a spell's effects. The spell specifies the ability that the target uses for the save and what happens on a success or failure.\n\nThe DC to resist one of your spells equals 8 + your spellcasting ability modifier + your proficiency bonus + any special modifiers.",
"index": 18,
"initialHeaderLevel": 2,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_spellcasting/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_armor-class/?format=api",
"name": "Armor Class",
"desc": "A monster that wears armor or carries a shield has an Armor Class (AC) that takes its armor, shield, and Dexterity into account. Otherwise, a monster’s AC is based on its Dexterity modifier and natural armor, if any. If a monster has natural armor, wears armor, or carries a shield, this is noted in parentheses after its AC value.",
"index": 5,
"initialHeaderLevel": 2,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_armor_armor-table/?format=api",
"name": "Armor Table",
"desc": "| Armor | Cost | Armor Class (AC) | Strength | Stealth | Weight |\n|--------------------|----------|---------------------------|----------|--------------|--------|\n| **_Light Armor_** | | | | | |\n| Padded | 5 gp | 11 + Dex modifier | - | Disadvantage | 8 lb. |\n| Leather | 10 gp | 11 + Dex modifier | - | - | 10 lb. |\n| Studded leather | 45 gp | 12 + Dex modifier | - | - | 13 lb. |\n| **_Medium Armor_** | | | | | |\n| Hide | 10 gp | 12 + Dex modifier (max 2) | - | - | 12 lb. |\n| Chain shirt | 50 gp | 13 + Dex modifier (max 2) | - | - | 20 lb. |\n| Scale mail | 50 gp | 14 + Dex modifier (max 2) | - | Disadvantage | 45 lb. |\n| Breastplate | 400 gp | 14 + Dex modifier (max 2) | - | - | 20 lb. |\n| Half plate | 750 gp | 15 + Dex modifier (max 2) | - | Disadvantage | 40 lb. |\n| **_Heavy Armor_** | | | | | |\n| Ring mail | 30 gp | 14 | - | Disadvantage | 40 lb. |\n| Chain mail | 75 gp | 16 | Str 13 | Disadvantage | 55 lb. |\n| Splint | 200 gp | 17 | Str 15 | Disadvantage | 60 lb. |\n| Plate | 1,500 gp | 18 | Str 15 | Disadvantage | 65 lb. |\n| **_Shield_** | | | | | |\n| Shield | 10 gp | +2 | - | - | 6 lb. |",
"index": 4,
"initialHeaderLevel": 2,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_armor/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_armor-weapon-tool-proficiencies/?format=api",
"name": "Armor, Weapon and Tool Proficiency",
"desc": "Assume that a creature is proficient with its armor, weapons, and tools. If you swap them out, you decide whether the creature is proficient with its new equipment.\n\nFor example, a hill giant typically wears hide armor and wields a greatclub. You could equip a hill giant with chain mail and a greataxe instead, and assume the giant is proficient with both, one or the other, or neither.\n\nSee the *Player’s Handbook* for rules on using armor or weapons without proficiency.",
"index": 13,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_actions-in-combat_attack/?format=api",
"name": "Attack",
"desc": "The most common action to take in combat is the Attack action, whether you are swinging a sword, firing an arrow from a bow, or brawling with your fists.\n\nWith this action, you make one melee or ranged attack. See the Making an Attack section for the rules that govern attacks. Certain features, such as the Extra Attack feature of the fighter, allow you to make more than one attack with this action.",
"index": 1,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_actions-in-combat/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_attacking_attack-rolls/?format=api",
"name": "Attack Rolls",
"desc": "When you make an attack, your attack roll determines whether the attack hits or misses. To make an attack roll, roll a d20 and add the appropriate modifiers. If the total of the roll plus modifiers equals or exceeds the target's Armor Class (AC), the attack hits. The AC of a character is determined at character creation, whereas the AC of a monster is in its stat block.",
"index": 1,
"initialHeaderLevel": 2,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_attacking/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_magic-items_attunement/?format=api",
"name": "Attunement",
"desc": "Some magic items require a creature to form a bond with them before their magical properties can be used. This bond is called attunement, and certain items have a prerequisite for it. If the prerequisite is a class, a creature must be a member of that class to attune to the item. (If the class is a spellcasting class, a monster qualifies if it has spell slots and uses that class’s spell list.) If the prerequisite is to be a spellcaster, a creature qualifies if it can cast at least one spell using its traits or features, not using a magic item or the like.\n\nWithout becoming attuned to an item that requires attunement, a creature gains only its nonmagical benefits, unless its description states otherwise. For example, a magic shield that requires attunement provides the benefits of a normal shield to a creature not attuned to it, but none of its magical properties.\n\nAttuning to an item requires a creature to spend a short rest focused on only that item while being in physical contact with it (this can’t be the same short rest used to learn the item’s properties). This focus can take the form of weapon practice (for a weapon), meditation (for a wondrous item), or some other appropriate activity. If the short rest is interrupted, the attunement attempt fails. Otherwise, at the end of the short rest, the creature gains an intuitive understanding of how to activate any magical properties of the item, including any necessary command words.\n\nAn item can be attuned to only one creature at a time, and a creature can be attuned to no more than three magic items at a time. Any attempt to attune to a fourth item fails; the creature must end its attunement to an item first. Additionally, a creature can’t attune to more than one copy of an item. For example, a creature can’t attune to more than one *ring of protection* at a time.\n\nA creature’s attunement to an item ends if the creature no longer satisfies the prerequisites for attunement, if the item has been more than 100 feet away for at least 24 hours, if the creature dies, or if another creature attunes to the item. A creature can also voluntarily end attunement by spending another short rest focused on the item, unless the item is cursed.",
"index": 1,
"initialHeaderLevel": 2,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_magic-items/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_planes_beyond-the-material/?format=api",
"name": "Beyond the Material",
"desc": "Beyond the Material Plane, the various planes of existence are realms of myth and mystery. They're not simply other worlds, but different qualities of being, formed and governed by spiritual and elemental principles abstracted from the ordinary world.",
"index": 2,
"initialHeaderLevel": 2,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_planes/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_environment_blindsight/?format=api",
"name": "Blindsight",
"desc": "A creature with blindsight can perceive its surroundings without relyingon sight, within a specific radius. Creatures without eyes, such asoozes, and creatures with echolocation or heightened senses, such asbats and true dragons, have this sense.",
"index": 4,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_environment/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_environment_darkvision/?format=api",
"name": "Blindsight",
"desc": "Many creatures in fantasy gaming worlds, especially those that dwell underground, have darkvision. Within a specified range, a creature withdarkvision can see in darkness as if the darkness were dim light, soareas of darkness are only lightly obscured as far as that creature is concerned. However, the creature can't discern color in darkness, only shades of gray.",
"index": 5,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_environment/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_spellcasting_bonus-action/?format=api",
"name": "Bonus Action",
"desc": "A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven't already taken a bonus action this turn. You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.",
"index": 11,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_spellcasting/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_spellcasting_reactions/?format=api",
"name": "Bonus Action",
"desc": "Some spells can be cast as reactions. These spells take a fraction of a second to bring about and are cast in response to some event. If a spell can be cast as a reaction, the spell description tells you exactly when you can do so.",
"index": 12,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_spellcasting/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_combat-sequence_bonus-actions/?format=api",
"name": "Bonus Actions",
"desc": "Various class features, spells, and other abilities let you take an additional action on your turn called a bonus action. The Cunning Action feature, for example, allows a rogue to take a bonus action. You can take a bonus action only when a special ability, spell, or other feature of the game states that you can do something as a bonus action. You otherwise don't have a bonus action to take.\n\n> **Sage Advice**\n\n> Actions and bonus actions can't be exchanged. If you have two abilities that require bonus actions to activate you can only use one, even if you take no other actions.\n\n> Source: [Sage Advice > Compendium](http://media.wizards.com/2015/downloads/dnd/SA_Compendium_1.01.pdf)\n\nYou can take only one bonus action on your turn, so you must choose which bonus action to use when you have more than one available.\n\nYou choose when to take a bonus action during your turn, unless the bonus action's timing is specified, and anything that deprives you of your ability to take actions also prevents you from taking a bonus action.",
"index": 3,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_combat-sequence/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_diseases_cackle-fever/?format=api",
"name": "Cackle Fever",
"desc": "This disease targets humanoids, although gnomes are strangely immune. While in the grips of this disease, victims frequently succumb to fits of mad laughter, giving the disease its common name and its morbid nickname: “the shrieks.”\n\nSymptoms manifest 1d4 hours after infection and include fever and disorientation. The infected creature gains one level of exhaustion that can't be removed until the disease is cured.\n\nAny event that causes the infected creature great stress-including entering combat, taking damage, experiencing fear, or having a nightmare-forces the creature to make a DC 13 Constitution saving throw. On a failed save, the creature takes 5 (1d10) psychic damage and becomes incapacitated with mad laughter for 1 minute. The creature can repeat the saving throw at the end of each of its turns, ending the mad laughter and the incapacitated condition on a success.\n\nAny humanoid creature that starts its turn within 10 feet of an infected creature in the throes of mad laughter must succeed on a DC 10 Constitution saving throw or also become infected with the disease. Once a creature succeeds on this save, it is immune to the mad laughter of that particular infected creature for 24 hours.\n\nAt the end of each long rest, an infected creature can make a DC 13 Constitution saving throw. On a successful save, the DC for this save and for the save to avoid an attack of mad laughter drops by 1d6. When the saving throw DC drops to 0, the creature recovers from the disease. A creature that fails three of these saving throws gains a randomly determined form of indefinite madness, as described later in this chapter.",
"index": 2,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_diseases/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_spellcasting_cantrips/?format=api",
"name": "Cantrips",
"desc": "A cantrip is a spell that can be cast at will, without using a spell slot and without being prepared in advance. Repeated practice has fixed the spell in the caster's mind and infused the caster with the magic needed to produce the effect over and over. A cantrip's spell level is 0.",
"index": 7,
"initialHeaderLevel": 2,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_spellcasting/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_actions-in-combat_cast-a-spell/?format=api",
"name": "Cast a Spell",
"desc": "Spellcasters such as wizards and clerics, as well as many monsters, have access to spells and can use them to great effect in combat. Each spell has a casting time, which specifies whether the caster must use an action, a reaction, minutes, or even hours to cast the spell. Casting a spell is, therefore, not necessarily an action. Most spells do have a casting time of 1 action, so a spellcaster often uses his or her action in combat to cast such a spell.",
"index": 2,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_actions-in-combat/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_spellcasting_casting-time/?format=api",
"name": "Casting Time",
"desc": "Most spells require a single action to cast, but some spells require a bonus action, a reaction, or much more time to cast.",
"index": 10,
"initialHeaderLevel": 2,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_spellcasting/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_spellcasting_casting-a-spell/?format=api",
"name": "Casting a Spell",
"desc": "When a character casts any spell, the same basic rules are followed, regardless of the character's class or the spell's effects.\n\nEach spell description begins with a block of information, including the spell's name, level, school of magic, casting time, range, components, and duration. The rest of a spell entry describes the spell's effect.",
"index": 9,
"initialHeaderLevel": 2,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_spellcasting/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_spellcasting_casting-a-spell-at-higher-level/?format=api",
"name": "Casting a Spell at a Higher Level",
"desc": "When a spellcaster casts a spell using a slot that is of a higher level than the spell, the spell assumes the higher level for that casting. For instance, if Umara casts _magic missile_ using one of her 2nd-level slots, that _magic missile_ is 2nd level. Effectively, the spell expands to fill the slot it is put into.\n\nSome spells, such as _magic missile_ and _cure wounds_, have more powerful effects when cast at a higher level, as detailed in a spell's description.",
"index": 5,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_spellcasting/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_spellcasting_casting-in-armor/?format=api",
"name": "Casting in Armor",
"desc": "Because of the mental focus and precise gestures required for spellcasting, you must be proficient with the armor you are wearing to cast a spell. You are otherwise too distracted and physically hampered by your armor for spellcasting.",
"index": 6,
"initialHeaderLevel": 2,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_spellcasting/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_pantheons_celtic-deities/?format=api",
"name": "Celtic Deities",
"desc": "| Deity | Alignment | Suggested Domains | Symbol |\n|---------------------------------------------------|-----------|-------------------|------------------------------------|\n| The Daghdha, god of weather and crops | CG | Nature, Trickery | Bubbling cauldron or shield |\n| Arawn, god of life and death | NE | Life, Death | Black star on gray background |\n| Belenus, god of sun, light, and warmth | NG | Light | Solar disk and standing stones |\n| Brigantia, goddess of rivers and livestock | NG | Life | Footbridge |\n| Diancecht, god of medicine and healing | LG | Life | Crossed oak and mistletoe branches |\n| Dunatis, god of mountains and peaks | N | Nature | Red sun-capped mountain peak |\n| Goibhniu, god of smiths and healing | NG | Knowledge, Life | Giant mallet over sword |\n| Lugh, god of arts, travel, and commerce | CN | Knowledge, Life | Pair of long hands |\n| Manannan mac Lir, god of oceans and sea creatures | LN | Nature, Tempest | Wave of white water on green |\n| Math Mathonwy, god of magic | NE | Knowledge | Staff |\n| Morrigan, goddess of battle | CE | War | Two crossed spears |\n| Nuada, god of war and warriors | N | War | Silver hand on black background |\n| Oghma, god of speech and writing | NG | Knowledge | Unfurled scroll |\n| Silvanus, god of nature and forests | N | Nature | Summer oak tree |",
"index": 2,
"initialHeaderLevel": 2,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_pantheons/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_challenge/?format=api",
"name": "Challenge",
"desc": "A monster’s **challenge rating** tells you how great a threat the monster is. An appropriately equipped and well-rested party of four adventurers should be able to defeat a monster that has a challenge rating equal to its level without suffering any deaths. For example, a party of four 3rd-level characters should find a monster with a challenge rating of 3 to be a worthy challenge, but not a deadly one.\n\nMonsters that are significantly weaker than 1st-level characters have a challenge rating lower than 1. Monsters with a challenge rating of 0 are insignificant except in large numbers; those with no effective attacks are worth no experience points, while those that have attacks are worth 10 XP each.\n\nSome monsters present a greater challenge than even a typical 20th-level party can handle. These monsters have a challenge rating of 21 or higher and are specifically designed to test player skill.",
"index": 18,
"initialHeaderLevel": 2,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_multiclassing_channel-divinity/?format=api",
"name": "Channel Divinity",
"desc": "If you already have the Channel Divinity feature and gain a level in a class that also grants the feature, you gain the Channel Divinity effects granted by that class, but getting the feature again doesn't give you an additional use of it. You gain additional uses only when you reach a class level that explicitly grants them to you. For example, if you are a cleric 6/paladin 4, you can use Channel Divinity twice between rests because you are high enough level in the cleric class to have more uses. Whenever you use the feature, you can choose any of the Channel Divinity effects available to you from your two classes.",
"index": 7,
"initialHeaderLevel": 2,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_multiclassing/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_magic-items_charges/?format=api",
"name": "Charges",
"desc": "Some magic items have charges that must be expended to activate their properties. The number of charges an item has remaining is revealed when an identify spell is cast on it, as well as when a creature attunes to it. Additionally, when an item regains charges, the creature attuned to it learns how many charges it regained.",
"index": 9,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_magic-items/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_abilities_charisma/?format=api",
"name": "Charisma",
"desc": "Charisma measures your ability to interact effectively with others. It includes such factors as confidence and eloquence, and it can represent a charming or commanding personality.\n\n## Charisma Checks\n\nA Charisma check might arise when you try to influence or entertain others, when you try to make an impression or tell a convincing lie, or when you are navigating a tricky social situation. The Deception, Intimidation, Performance, and Persuasion skills reflect aptitude in certain kinds of Charisma checks.\n\n### Deception\n\nYour Charisma (Deception) check determines whether you can convincingly hide the truth, either verbally or through your actions. This deception can encompass everything from misleading others through ambiguity to telling outright lies. Typical situations include trying to fast-talk a guard, con a merchant, earn money through gambling, pass yourself off in a disguise, dull someone's suspicions with false assurances, or maintain a straight face while telling a blatant lie.\n\n### Intimidation \nWhen you attempt to influence someone through overt threats, hostile actions, and physical violence, the GM might ask you to make a Charisma (Intimidation) check. Examples include trying to pry information out of a prisoner, convincing street thugs to back down from a confrontation, or using the edge of a broken bottle to convince a sneering vizier to reconsider a decision.\n\n### Performance \nYour Charisma (Performance) check determines how well you can delight an audience with music, dance, acting, storytelling, or some other form of entertainment.\n\n### Persuasion \nWhen you attempt to influence someone or a group of people with tact, social graces, or good nature, the GM might ask you to make a Charisma (Persuasion) check. Typically, you use persuasion when acting in good faith, to foster friendships, make cordial requests, or exhibit proper etiquette. Examples of persuading others include convincing a chamberlain to let your party see the king, negotiating peace between warring tribes, or inspiring a crowd of townsfolk\n\n### Other Charisma Checks\n\nThe GM might call for a Charisma check when you try to accomplish tasks like the following:\n\n- Find the best person to talk to for news, rumors, and gossip\n- Blend into a crowd to get the sense of key topics of conversation\n\n\n## Spellcasting Ability\n\nBards, paladins, sorcerers, and warlocks use Charisma as their spellcasting ability, which helps determine the saving throw DCs of spells they cast.",
"index": 16,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_abilities/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_multiclassing_class-features/?format=api",
"name": "Class Features",
"desc": "When you gain a new level in a class, you get its features for that level. You don't, however, receive the class's starting equipment, and a few features have additional rules when you're multiclassing: Channel Divinity, Extra Attack, Unarmored Defense, and Spellcasting.",
"index": 6,
"initialHeaderLevel": 2,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_multiclassing/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_movement_climbing-swimming-crawling/?format=api",
"name": "Climbing, Swimming and Crawling",
"desc": "While climbing or swimming, each foot of movement costs 1 extra foot (2extra feet in difficult terrain), unless a creature has a climbing orswimming speed. At the GM's option, climbing a slippery vertical surfaceor one with few handholds requires a successful Strength (Athletics) check. Similarly, gaining any distance in rough water might require asuccessful Strength (Athletics) check.",
"index": 5,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_movement/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_traps_collapsing-roof/?format=api",
"name": "Collapsing Roof",
"desc": "_Mechanical trap_\n\nThis trap uses a trip wire to collapse the supports keeping an unstable section of a ceiling in place.\n\nThe trip wire is 3 inches off the ground and stretches between two support beams. The DC to spot the trip wire is 10. A successful DC 15 Dexterity check using thieves' tools disables the trip wire harmlessly. A character without thieves' tools can attempt this check with disadvantage using any edged weapon or edged tool. On a failed check, the trap triggers.\n\nAnyone who inspects the beams can easily determine that they are merely wedged in place. As an action, a character can knock over a beam, causing the trap to trigger.\n\nThe ceiling above the trip wire is in bad repair, and anyone who can see it can tell that it's in danger of collapse.\n\nWhen the trap is triggered, the unstable ceiling collapses. Any creature in the area beneath the unstable section must succeed on a DC 15 Dexterity saving throw, taking 22 (4d10) bludgeoning damage on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one. Once the trap is triggered, the floor of the area is filled with rubble and becomes difficult terrain.",
"index": 7,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_traps/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_magic-items_command-word/?format=api",
"name": "Command Word",
"desc": "A command word is a word or phrase that must be spoken for an item to work. A magic item that requires a command word can’t be activated in an area where sound is prevented, as in the area of the silence spell.",
"index": 6,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_magic-items/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_traps_complex-traps/?format=api",
"name": "Complex Traps",
"desc": "Complex traps work like standard traps, except once activated they execute a series of actions each round. A complex trap turns the process of dealing with a trap into something more like a combat encounter.\n\nWhen a complex trap activates, it rolls initiative. The trap's description includes an initiative bonus. On its turn, the trap activates again, often taking an action. It might make successive attacks against intruders, create an effect that changes over time, or otherwise produce a dynamic challenge. Otherwise, the complex trap can be detected and disabled or bypassed in the usual ways.\n\nFor example, a trap that causes a room to slowly flood works best as a complex trap. On the trap's turn, the water level rises. After several rounds, the room is completely flooded.",
"index": 5,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_traps/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_spellcasting_components/?format=api",
"name": "Components",
"desc": "A spell's components are the physical requirements you must meet in order to cast it. Each spell's description indicates whether it requires verbal (V), somatic (S), or material (M) components. If you can't provide one or more of a spell's components, you are unable to cast the spell.\n\n### Verbal (V)\n\nMost spells require the chanting of mystic words. The words themselves aren't the source of the spell's power; rather, the particular combination of sounds, with specific pitch and resonance, sets the threads of magic in motion. Thus, a character who is gagged or in an area of silence, such as one created by the _silence_ spell, can't cast a spell with a verbal component.\n\n### Somatic (S)\n\nSpellcasting gestures might include a forceful gesticulation or an intricate set of gestures. If a spell requires a somatic component, the caster must have free use of at least one hand to perform these gestures.\n\n### Material (M)\n\nCasting some spells requires particular objects, specified in parentheses in the component entry. A character can use a **component pouch** or a **spellcasting focus** (found in “Equipment”) in place of the components specified for a spell. But if a cost is indicated for a component, a character must have that specific component before he or she can cast the spell.\n\nIf a spell states that a material component is consumed by the spell, the caster must provide this component for each casting of the spell.\n\nA spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell's material components-or to hold a spellcasting focus-but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components",
"index": 15,
"initialHeaderLevel": 2,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_spellcasting/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_magic-items_conflict/?format=api",
"name": "Conflict",
"desc": "A sentient item has a will of its own, shaped by its personality and alignment. If its wielder acts in a manner opposed to the item’s alignment or purpose, conflict can arise. When such a conflict occurs, the item makes a Charisma check contested by the wielder’s Charisma check. If the item wins the contest, it makes one or more of the following demands:\n\n* The item insists on being carried or worn at all times.\n* The item demands that its wielder dispose of anything the item finds repugnant.\n* The item demands that its wielder pursue the item’s goals to the exclusion of all other goals.\n* The item demands to be given to someone else.\n\nIf its wielder refuses to comply with the item’s wishes, the item can do any or all of the following:\n\n* Make it impossible for its wielder to attune to it.\n* Suppress one or more of its activated properties.\n* Attempt to take control of its wielder.\n\nIf a sentient item attempts to take control of its wielder, the wielder must make a Charisma saving throw, with a DC equal to 12 + the item’s Charisma modifier. On a failed save, the wielder is charmed by the item for 1d12 hours. While charmed, the wielder must try to follow the item’s commands. If the wielder takes damage, it can repeat the saving throw, ending the effect on a success. Whether the attempt to control its user succeeds or fails, the item can’t use this power again until the next dawn.",
"index": 12,
"initialHeaderLevel": 2,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_magic-items/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_abilities_constitution/?format=api",
"name": "Constitution",
"desc": "Constitution measures health, stamina, and vital force.\n\n## Constitution Checks \nConstitution checks are uncommon, and no skills apply to Constitution checks, because the endurance this ability represents is largely passive rather than involving a specific effort on the part of a character or monster. A Constitution check can model your attempt to push beyond normal limits, however.\n\nThe GM might call for a Constitution check when you try to accomplish tasks like the following: - Hold your breath - March or labor for hours without rest - Go without sleep - Survive without food or water - Quaff an entire stein of ale in one go ## Hit Points \nYour Constitution modifier contributes to your hit points. Typically, you add your Constitution modifier to each Hit Die you roll for your hit points.\n\nIf your Constitution modifier changes, your hit point maximum changes as well, as though you had the new modifier from 1st level. For example, if you raise your Constitution score when you reach 4th level and your Constitution modifier increases from +1 to +2, you adjust your hit point maximum as though the modifier had always been +2. So you add 3 hit points for your first three levels, and then roll your hit points for 4th level using your new modifier. Or if you're 7th level and some effect lowers your Constitution score so as to reduce your Constitution modifier by 1, your hit point maximum is reduced by 7.",
"index": 13,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_abilities/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_magic-items_consumables/?format=api",
"name": "Consumables",
"desc": "Some items are used up when they are activated. A potion or an elixir must be swallowed, or an oil applied to the body. The writing vanishes from a scroll when it is read. Once used, a consumable item loses its magic.",
"index": 7,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_magic-items/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_magic-items_spells/?format=api",
"name": "Consumables",
"desc": "Some magic items allow the user to cast a spell from the item. The spell is cast at the lowest possible spell level, doesn’t expend any of the user’s spell slots, and requires no components, unless the item’s description says otherwise. The spell uses its normal casting time, range, and duration, and the user of the item must concentrate if the spell requires concentration. Many items, such as potions, bypass the casting of a spell and confer the spell’s effects, with their usual duration. Certain items make exceptions to these rules, changing the casting time, duration, or other parts of a spell.\n\nA magic item, such as certain staffs, may require you to use your own spellcasting ability when you cast a spell from the item. If you have more than one spellcasting ability, you choose which one to use with the item. If you don’t have a spellcasting ability—perhaps you’re a rogue with the Use Magic Device feature—your spellcasting ability modifier is +0 for the item, and your proficiency bonus does apply.",
"index": 8,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_magic-items/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_abilities_contests/?format=api",
"name": "Contents",
"desc": "Sometimes one character's or monster's efforts are directly opposed to another's. This can occur when both of them are trying to do the same thing and only one can succeed, such as attempting to snatch up a magic ring that has fallen on the floor. This situation also applies when one of them is trying to prevent the other one from accomplishing a goal---for example, when a monster tries to force open a door that an adventurer is holding closed. In situations like these, the outcome is determined by a special form of ability check, called a contest.\n\nBoth participants in a contest make ability checks appropriate to their efforts. They apply all appropriate bonuses and penalties, but instead of comparing the total to a DC, they compare the totals of their two checks. The participant with the higher check total wins the contest.\nThat character or monster either succeeds at the action or prevents the other one from succeeding.\n\nIf the contest results in a tie, the situation remains the same as it was before the contest. Thus, one contestant might win the contest by default. If two characters tie in a contest to snatch a ring off the floor, neither character grabs it. In a contest between a monster trying to open a door and an adventurer trying to keep the door closed, a tie means that the door remains shut.",
"index": 5,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_abilities/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_mounted-combat_controlling-a-mount/?format=api",
"name": "Controlling a Mount",
"desc": "While you're mounted, you have two options. You can either control the mount or allow it to act independently. Intelligent creatures, such as dragons, act independently.\n\nYou can control a mount only if it has been trained to accept a rider. Domesticated horses, donkeys, and similar creatures are assumed to have such training. The initiative of a controlled mount changes to match yours when you mount it. It moves as you direct it, and it has only three action options: Dash, Disengage, and Dodge. A controlled mount can move and act even on the turn that you mount it.\n\nAn independent mount retains its place in the initiative order. Bearing a rider puts no restrictions on the actions the mount can take, and it moves and acts as it wishes. It might flee from combat, rush to attack and devour a badly injured foe, or otherwise act against your wishes.\n\nIn either case, if the mount provokes an opportunity attack while you're on it, the attacker can target you or the mount.",
"index": 2,
"initialHeaderLevel": 2,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_mounted-combat/?format=api"
}
]
}