HTTP 200 OK
Allow: GET, HEAD, OPTIONS
Content-Type: application/json
Vary: Accept
{
"count": 227,
"next": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/?format=api&ordering=-document&page=4",
"previous": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/?format=api&ordering=-document&page=2",
"results": [
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_regional-effects/?format=api",
"name": "Regional Effects",
"desc": "The mere presence of a legendary creature can have strange and wondrous effects on its environment, as noted in this section. Regional effects end abruptly or dissipate over time when the legendary creature dies.",
"index": 37,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_reactions/?format=api",
"name": "Ammunition",
"desc": "If a monster can do something special with its reaction, that information is contained here. If a creature has no special reaction, this section is absent.",
"index": 29,
"initialHeaderLevel": 2,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_psionics/?format=api",
"name": "Psionics",
"desc": "A monster that casts spells using only the power of its mind has the psionics tag added to its Spellcasting or Innate Spellcasting special trait. This tag carries no special rules of its own, but other parts of the game might refer to it. A monster that has this tag typically doesn’t require any components to cast its spells.",
"index": 24,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_prof-bonus-by-cr/?format=api",
"name": "Proficiency Bonus by Challenge Rating",
"desc": "| Challenge | Proficiency Bonus |\n|---------------|--------------------------|\n| 0 | +2 |\n| ⅛ | +2 |\n| ¼ | +2 |\n| ½ |+2 |\n| 1 | +2 |\n| 2 | +2 |\n| 3 | +2 |\n| 4 | +2 |\n| 5 | +3 |\n| 6 | +3 |\n| 7 | +3 |\n| 8 | +3 |\n| 9 | +4 |\n| 10 | +4 |\n| 11 | +4 |\n| 12 | +4 |\n| 13 | +5 |\n| 14 | +5 |\n| 15 | +5 |\n| 16 | +5 |\n| 17 | +6 |\n| 18 | +6 |\n| 19 | +6 |\n| 20 | +6 |\n| 21 | +7 |\n| 22 | +7 |\n| 23 | +7 |\n| 24 | +7 |\n| 25 | +8 |\n| 26 | +8 |\n| 27 | +8 |\n| 28 | +8 |\n| 29 | +9 |\n| 30 | +9 |\n\n",
"index": 11,
"initialHeaderLevel": 2,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_multiattack/?format=api",
"name": "Multiattack",
"desc": "A creature that can make multiple attacks on its turn has the Multiattack action. A creature can’t use Multiattack when making an opportunity attack, which must be a single melee attack.",
"index": 27,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_modifying-creatures/?format=api",
"name": "Modifying Creatures",
"desc": "Despite the versatile collection of monsters in this book, you might be at a loss when it comes to finding the perfect creature for part of an adventure. Feel free to tweak an existing creature to make it into something more useful for you, perhaps by borrowing a trait or two from a different monster or by using a variant or template, such as the ones in this book. Keep in mind that modifying a monster, including when you apply a template to it, might change its challenge rating.",
"index": 2,
"initialHeaderLevel": 4,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_melee-and-ranged-attacks/?format=api",
"name": "Melee and Ranged Attacks",
"desc": "The most common actions that a monster will take in combat are melee and ranged attacks. These can be spell attacks or weapon attacks, where the “weapon” might be a manufactured item or a natural weapon, such as a claw or tail spike. For more information on different kinds of attacks, see the *Player’s Handbook*.\n\n***Creature vs. Target.*** The target of a melee or ranged attack is usually either one creature or one target, the difference being that a “target” can be a creature or an object.\n\n***Hit.*** Any damage dealt or other effects that occur as a result of an attack hitting a target are described after the \"*Hit*\" notation. You have the option of taking average damage or rolling the damage; for this reason, both the average damage and the die expression are presented.\n\n***Miss.*** If an attack has an effect that occurs on a miss, that information is presented after the \"*Miss:*\" notation.",
"index": 26,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_limited-usage/?format=api",
"name": "Limited Usage",
"desc": "Some special abilities have restrictions on the number of times they can be used.\n\n***X/Day.*** The notation \"X/Day\" means a special ability can be used X number of times and that a monster must finish a long rest to regain expended uses. For example, \"1/Day\" means a special ability can be used once and that the monster must finish a long rest to use it again.\n\n***Recharge X–Y.*** The notation \"Recharge X–Y\" means a monster can use a special ability once and that the ability then has a random chance of recharging during each subsequent round of combat. At the start of each of the monster’s turns, roll a d6. If the roll is one of the numbers in the recharge notation, the monster regains the use of the special ability. The ability also recharges when the monster finishes a short or long rest.\n\nFor example, \"Recharge 5–6\" means a monster can use the special ability once. Then, at the start of the monster’s turn, it regains the use of that ability if it rolls a 5 or 6 on a d6.\n\n***Recharge after a Short or Long Rest.*** This notation means that a monster can use a special ability once and then must finish a short or long rest to use it again.",
"index": 30,
"initialHeaderLevel": 2,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_legendary-creatures-lair/?format=api",
"name": "Legendary Creature’s Lair",
"desc": "A legendary creature might have a section describing its lair and the special effects it can create while there, either by act of will or simply by being present. Such a section applies only to a legendary creature that spends a great deal of time in its lair.",
"index": 35,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_legendary-creatures/?format=api",
"name": "Legendary Creature",
"desc": "A legendary creature can do things that ordinary creatures can’t. It can take special actions outside its turn, and it might exert magical influence for miles around.\n\nIf a creature assumes the form of a legendary creature, such as through a spell, it doesn’t gain that form’s legendary actions, lair actions, or regional effects.",
"index": 33,
"initialHeaderLevel": 2,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_legendary-actions/?format=api",
"name": "Legendary Actions",
"desc": "A legendary creature can take a certain number of special actions—called legendary actions—outside its turn. Only one legendary action option can be used at a time and only at the end of another creature’s turn. A creature regains its spent legendary actions at the start of its turn. It can forgo using them, and it can’t use them while incapacitated or otherwise unable to take actions. If surprised, it can’t use them until after its first turn in the combat.",
"index": 34,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_languages/?format=api",
"name": "Languages",
"desc": "The languages that a monster can speak are listed in alphabetical order. Sometimes a monster can understand a language but can’t speak it, and this is noted in its entry. A \"—\" indicates that a creature neither speaks nor understands any language.",
"index": 16,
"initialHeaderLevel": 2,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_lair-actions/?format=api",
"name": "Lair Actions",
"desc": "If a legendary creature has lair actions, it can use them to harness the ambient magic in its lair. On initiative count 20 (losing all initiative ties), it can use one of its lair action options. It can’t do so while incapacitated or otherwise unable to take actions. If surprised, it can’t use one until after its first turn in the combat.",
"index": 36,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_innate-spellcasting/?format=api",
"name": "Innate Spellcasting",
"desc": "A monster with the innate ability to cast spells has the Innate Spellcasting special trait. Unless noted otherwise, an innate spell of 1st level or higher is always cast at its lowest possible level and can’t be cast at a higher level. If a monster has a cantrip where its level matters and no level is given, use the monster’s challenge rating.\n\nAn innate spell can have special rules or restrictions. For example, a drow mage can innately cast the *levitate* spell, but the spell has a “self only” restriction, which means that the spell affects only the drow mage.\n\nA monster’s innate spells can’t be swapped out with other spells. If a monster’s innate spells don’t require attack rolls, no attack bonus is given for them.",
"index": 22,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_hit-points/?format=api",
"name": "Hit Points",
"desc": "A monster usually dies or is destroyed when it drops to 0 hit points. For more on hit points, see the *Player’s Handbook*.\n\nA monster’s hit points are presented both as a die expression and as an average number. For example, a monster with 2d8 hit points has 9 hit points on average (2 × 4½).\n\nA monster’s size determines the die used to calculate its hit points, as shown in the Hit Dice by Size table.",
"index": 6,
"initialHeaderLevel": 2,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_hit-dice-by-size/?format=api",
"name": "Hit Dice by Size",
"desc": "| Monster Size | Hit Die | Average HP per Die |\n|-------------------|-----------|----------------------------|\n| Tiny | d4 | 2½ |\n| Small | d6 | 3½ |\n| Medium | d8 | 4½ |\n| Large | d10 | 5½ |\n| Huge | d12 | 6½ |\n| Gargantuan | d20 | 10½ |\n\nA monster’s Constitution modifier also affects the number of hit points it has. Its Constitution modifier is multiplied by the number of Hit Dice it possesses, and the result is added to its hit points. For example, if a monster has a Constitution of 12 (+1 modifier) and 2d8 Hit Dice, it has 2d8 + 2 hit points (average 11).",
"index": 7,
"initialHeaderLevel": 2,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_grapple-rules/?format=api",
"name": "Grapple Rules for Monsters",
"desc": "Many monsters have special attacks that allow them to quickly grapple prey. When a monster hits with such an attack, it doesn’t need to make an additional ability check to determine whether the grapple succeeds, unless the attack says otherwise.\n\nA creature grappled by the monster can use its action to try to escape. To do so, it must succeed on a Strength (Athletics) or Dexterity (Acrobatics) check against the escape DC in the monster’s stat block. If no escape DC is given, assume the DC is 10 + the monster’s Strength (Athletics) modifier.",
"index": 31,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_experience-points-by-cr/?format=api",
"name": "Experience Points by Challenge Rating",
"desc": "| Challenge | XP |\n|---------------|------|\n| 0 | 0 or 10 |\n| ⅛ | 25 |\n| ¼ | 50 |\n| ½ |100 |\n| 1 | 200 |\n| 2 | 450 |\n| 3 | 700 |\n| 4 | 1,100 |\n| 5 | 1,800 |\n| 6 | 2,300 |\n| 7 | 2,900 |\n| 8 | 3,900 |\n| 9 | 5,000 |\n| 10 | 5,900 |\n| 11 | 7,200 |\n| 12 | 8,400 |\n| 13 | 10,000 |\n| 14 | 11,500 |\n| 15 | 13,000 |\n| 16 | 15,000 |\n| 17 | 18,000 |\n| 18 | 20,000 |\n| 19 | 22,000 |\n| 20 | 25,000 |\n| 21 | 33,000 |\n| 22 | 41,000 |\n| 23 | 50,000 |\n| 24 | 62,000 |\n| 25 | 75,000 |\n| 26 | 90,000 |\n| 27 | 105,000 |\n| 28 | 120,000 |\n| 29 | 135,000 |\n| 30 | 155,000 |",
"index": 20,
"initialHeaderLevel": 4,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_experience-points/?format=api",
"name": "Experience Points",
"desc": "The number of experience points (XP) a monster is worth is based on its challenge rating. Typically, XP is awarded for defeating the monster, although the GM may also award XP for neutralizing the threat posed by the monster in some other manner.\n\nUnless something tells you otherwise, a monster summoned by a spell or other magical ability is worth the XP noted in its stat block.",
"index": 19,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_equipment/?format=api",
"name": "Equipment",
"desc": "A stat block rarely refers to equipment, other than armor or weapons used by a monster. A creature that customarily wears clothes, such as a humanoid, is assumed to be dressed appropriately.\n\nYou can equip monsters with additional gear and trinkets however you like, and you decide how much of a monster’s equipment is recoverable after the creature is slain and whether any of that equipment is still usable. A battered suit of armor made for a monster is rarely usable by someone else, for instance.\n\nIf a spellcasting monster needs material components to cast its spells, assume that it has the material components it needs to cast the spells in its stat block.",
"index": 32,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_challenge/?format=api",
"name": "Challenge",
"desc": "A monster’s **challenge rating** tells you how great a threat the monster is. An appropriately equipped and well-rested party of four adventurers should be able to defeat a monster that has a challenge rating equal to its level without suffering any deaths. For example, a party of four 3rd-level characters should find a monster with a challenge rating of 3 to be a worthy challenge, but not a deadly one.\n\nMonsters that are significantly weaker than 1st-level characters have a challenge rating lower than 1. Monsters with a challenge rating of 0 are insignificant except in large numbers; those with no effective attacks are worth no experience points, while those that have attacks are worth 10 XP each.\n\nSome monsters present a greater challenge than even a typical 20th-level party can handle. These monsters have a challenge rating of 21 or higher and are specifically designed to test player skill.",
"index": 18,
"initialHeaderLevel": 2,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_armor-weapon-tool-proficiencies/?format=api",
"name": "Armor, Weapon and Tool Proficiency",
"desc": "Assume that a creature is proficient with its armor, weapons, and tools. If you swap them out, you decide whether the creature is proficient with its new equipment.\n\nFor example, a hill giant typically wears hide armor and wields a greatclub. You could equip a hill giant with chain mail and a greataxe instead, and assume the giant is proficient with both, one or the other, or neither.\n\nSee the *Player’s Handbook* for rules on using armor or weapons without proficiency.",
"index": 13,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_armor-class/?format=api",
"name": "Armor Class",
"desc": "A monster that wears armor or carries a shield has an Armor Class (AC) that takes its armor, shield, and Dexterity into account. Otherwise, a monster’s AC is based on its Dexterity modifier and natural armor, if any. If a monster has natural armor, wears armor, or carries a shield, this is noted in parentheses after its AC value.",
"index": 5,
"initialHeaderLevel": 2,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_ammunition/?format=api",
"name": "Ammunition",
"desc": "A monster carries enough ammunition to make its ranged attacks. You can assume that a monster has 2d4 pieces of ammunition for a thrown weapon attack, and 2d10 pieces of ammunition for a projectile weapon such as a bow or crossbow.",
"index": 28,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_alignment/?format=api",
"name": "Alignment",
"desc": "A monster’s alignment provides a clue to its disposition and how it behaves in a roleplaying or combat situation. For example, a chaotic evil monster might be difficult to reason with and might attack characters on sight, whereas a neutral monster might be willing to negotiate. See the *Player’s Handbook* for descriptions of the different alignments.\n\nThe alignment specified in a monster’s stat block is the default. Feel free to depart from it and change a monster’s alignment to suit the needs of your campaign. If you want a good-aligned green dragon or an evil storm giant, there’s nothing stopping you.\n\nSome creatures can have **any alignment**. In other words, you choose the monster’s alignment. Some monster’s alignment entry indicates a tendency or aversion toward law, chaos, good, or evil. For example, a berserker can be any chaotic alignment (chaotic good, chaotic neutral, or chaotic evil), as befits its wild nature.\n\nMany creatures of low intelligence have no comprehension of law or chaos, good or evil. They don’t make moral or ethical choices, but rather act on instinct. These creatures are **unaligned**, which means they don’t have an alignment.",
"index": 4,
"initialHeaderLevel": 2,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_actions/?format=api",
"name": "Actions",
"desc": "When a monster takes its action, it can choose from the options in the Actions section of its stat block or use one of the actions available to all creatures, such as the Dash or Hide action, as described in the *Player’s Handbook*.",
"index": 25,
"initialHeaderLevel": 2,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_monsters_ability-scores/?format=api",
"name": "Ability Score",
"desc": "Every monster has six ability scores (Strength, Dexterity, Constitution, Intelligence, Wisdom, and Charisma) and corresponding modifiers. For more information on ability scores and how they’re used in play, see the *Player’s Handbook*.",
"index": 9,
"initialHeaderLevel": 2,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_monsters/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_magic-items_wearing-and-wielding/?format=api",
"name": "Wearing and Wielding Items",
"desc": "Using a magic item’s properties might mean wearing or wielding it. A magic item meant to be worn must be donned in the intended fashion: boots go on the feet, gloves on the hands, hats and helmets on the head, and rings on the finger. Magic armor must be donned, a shield strapped to the arm, a cloak fastened about the shoulders. A weapon must be held.\n\nIn most cases, a magic item that’s meant to be worn can fit a creature regardless of size or build. Many magic garments are made to be easily adjustable, or they magically adjust themselves to the wearer. Rare exceptions exist. If the story suggests a good reason for an item to fit only creatures of a certain size or shape, you can rule that it doesn’t adjust. For example, drow-made armor might fit elves only. Dwarves might make items usable only by dwarf-sized and dwarf-shaped folk.\n\nWhen a nonhumanoid tries to wear an item, use your discretion as to whether the item functions as intended. A ring placed on a tentacle might work, but a yuan-ti with a snakelike tail instead of legs can’t wear boots.",
"index": 2,
"initialHeaderLevel": 2,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_magic-items/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_magic-items_spells/?format=api",
"name": "Consumables",
"desc": "Some magic items allow the user to cast a spell from the item. The spell is cast at the lowest possible spell level, doesn’t expend any of the user’s spell slots, and requires no components, unless the item’s description says otherwise. The spell uses its normal casting time, range, and duration, and the user of the item must concentrate if the spell requires concentration. Many items, such as potions, bypass the casting of a spell and confer the spell’s effects, with their usual duration. Certain items make exceptions to these rules, changing the casting time, duration, or other parts of a spell.\n\nA magic item, such as certain staffs, may require you to use your own spellcasting ability when you cast a spell from the item. If you have more than one spellcasting ability, you choose which one to use with the item. If you don’t have a spellcasting ability—perhaps you’re a rogue with the Use Magic Device feature—your spellcasting ability modifier is +0 for the item, and your proficiency bonus does apply.",
"index": 8,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_magic-items/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_magic-items_sentient-magic-items/?format=api",
"name": "Sentient Magic Items",
"desc": "Some magic items possess sentience and personality. Such an item might be possessed, haunted by the spirit of a previous owner, or self-aware thanks to the magic used to create it. In any case, the item behaves like a character, complete with personality quirks, ideals, bonds, and sometimes flaws. A sentient item might be a cherished ally to its wielder or a continual thorn in the side.\n\nMost sentient items are weapons. Other kinds of items can manifest sentience, but consumable items such as potions and scrolls are never sentient.\n\nSentient magic items function as NPCs under the GM’s control. Any activated property of the item is under the item’s control, not its wielder’s. As long as the wielder maintains a good relationship with the item, the wielder can access those properties normally. If the relationship is strained, the item can suppress its activated properties or even turn them against the wielder.",
"index": 10,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_magic-items/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_magic-items_paired-items/?format=api",
"name": "Paired Items",
"desc": "Items that come in pairs—such as boots, bracers, gauntlets, and gloves—impart their benefits only if both items of the pair are worn. For example, a character wearing a boot of striding and springing on one foot and a boot of elvenkind on the other foot gains no benefit from either.",
"index": 4,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_magic-items/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_magic-items_multiple-items-of-same-kind/?format=api",
"name": "Multiple Items of the Same Kind",
"desc": "Use common sense to determine whether more than one of a given kind of magic item can be worn. A character can’t normally wear more than one pair of footwear, one pair of gloves or gauntlets, one pair of bracers, one suit of armor, one item of headwear, and one cloak. You can make exceptions; a character might be able to wear a circlet under a helmet, for example, or to layer two cloaks.",
"index": 3,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_magic-items/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_magic-items_creating-sentient-magic-items/?format=api",
"name": "Creating Sentient Magic Items",
"desc": "When you decide to make a magic item sentient, you create the item’s persona in the same way you would create an NPC, with a few exceptions described here.\n\n## Abilities\n\nA sentient magic item has Intelligence, Wisdom, and Charisma scores. You can choose the item’s abilities or determine them randomly. To determine them randomly, roll 4d6 for each one, dropping the lowest roll and totaling the rest.\n\n## Communication\n\nA sentient item has some ability to communicate, either by sharing its emotions, broadcasting its thoughts telepathically, or speaking aloud. You can choose how it communicates or roll on the following table.\n\n| d100 | Communication |\n|--------|-----------------------|\n| 01–60 | The item communicates by transmitting emotion to the creature carrying or wielding it. |\n| 61–90 | The item can speak, read, and understand one or more languages. |\n| 91–00 | The item can speak, read, and understand one or more languages. In addition, the item can communicate telepathically with any character that carries or wields it. |\n\n## Senses\n\nWith sentience comes awareness. A sentient item can perceive its surroundings out to a limited range. You can choose its senses or roll on the following table.\n\n| d4 | Senses |\n|-----|------------|\n| 1 | Hearing and normal vision out to 30 feet. |\n| 2 | Hearing and normal vision out to 60 feet |\n| 3 | Hearing and normal vision out to 120 feet. |\n| 4 | Hearing and darkvision out to 120 feet. |\n\n## Alignment\n\nA sentient magic item has an alignment. Its creator or nature might suggest an alignment. If not, you can pick an alignment or roll on the following table.\n\n| d100 | Alignment |\n|--------|---------------|\n| 01–15 | Lawful good |\n| 16–35 | Neutral good |\n| 36–50 | Chaotic good |\n| 51–63 | Lawful neutral |\n| 64–73 | Neutral |\n| 74–85 | Chaotic neutral |\n| 86–89 | Lawful evil |\n| 90–96 | Neutral evil |\n| 97–00 | Chaotic evil |\n\n ## Special Purpose\n\nYou can give a sentient item an objective it pursues, perhaps to the exclusion of all else. As long as the wielder’s use of the item aligns with that special purpose, the item remains cooperative. Deviating from this course might cause conflict between the wielder and the item, and could even cause the item to prevent the use of its activated properties. You can pick a special purpose or roll on the following table.\n\n| d10 | Purpose |\n|-------|-------------|\n| 1 | *Aligned:* The item seeks to defeat or destroy those of a diametrically opposed alignment. (Such an item is never neutral.) |\n| 2 | *Bane:* The item seeks to defeat or destroy creatures of a particular kind, such as fiends, shapechangers, trolls, or wizards. |\n| 3 | *Protector:* The item seeks to defend a particular race or kind of creature, such as elves or druids. |\n| 4 | *Crusader:* The item seeks to defeat, weaken, or destroy the servants of a particular deity. |\n| 5 | *Templar:* The item seeks to defend the servants and interests of a particular deity. |\n| 6 | *Destroyer:* The item craves destruction and goads its user to fight arbitrarily. |\n| 7 | *Glory Seeker:* The item seeks renown as the greatest magic item in the world, by establishing its user as a famous or notorious figure. |\n| 8 | *Lore Seeker:* The item craves knowledge or is determined to solve a mystery, learn a secret, or unravel a cryptic prophecy. |\n| 9 | *Destiny Seeker:* The item is convinced that it and its wielder have key roles to play in future events. |\n| 10 | *Creator Seeker:* The item seeks its creator and wants to understand why it was created. |",
"index": 11,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_magic-items/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_magic-items_consumables/?format=api",
"name": "Consumables",
"desc": "Some items are used up when they are activated. A potion or an elixir must be swallowed, or an oil applied to the body. The writing vanishes from a scroll when it is read. Once used, a consumable item loses its magic.",
"index": 7,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_magic-items/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_magic-items_conflict/?format=api",
"name": "Conflict",
"desc": "A sentient item has a will of its own, shaped by its personality and alignment. If its wielder acts in a manner opposed to the item’s alignment or purpose, conflict can arise. When such a conflict occurs, the item makes a Charisma check contested by the wielder’s Charisma check. If the item wins the contest, it makes one or more of the following demands:\n\n* The item insists on being carried or worn at all times.\n* The item demands that its wielder dispose of anything the item finds repugnant.\n* The item demands that its wielder pursue the item’s goals to the exclusion of all other goals.\n* The item demands to be given to someone else.\n\nIf its wielder refuses to comply with the item’s wishes, the item can do any or all of the following:\n\n* Make it impossible for its wielder to attune to it.\n* Suppress one or more of its activated properties.\n* Attempt to take control of its wielder.\n\nIf a sentient item attempts to take control of its wielder, the wielder must make a Charisma saving throw, with a DC equal to 12 + the item’s Charisma modifier. On a failed save, the wielder is charmed by the item for 1d12 hours. While charmed, the wielder must try to follow the item’s commands. If the wielder takes damage, it can repeat the saving throw, ending the effect on a success. Whether the attempt to control its user succeeds or fails, the item can’t use this power again until the next dawn.",
"index": 12,
"initialHeaderLevel": 2,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_magic-items/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_magic-items_command-word/?format=api",
"name": "Command Word",
"desc": "A command word is a word or phrase that must be spoken for an item to work. A magic item that requires a command word can’t be activated in an area where sound is prevented, as in the area of the silence spell.",
"index": 6,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_magic-items/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_magic-items_charges/?format=api",
"name": "Charges",
"desc": "Some magic items have charges that must be expended to activate their properties. The number of charges an item has remaining is revealed when an identify spell is cast on it, as well as when a creature attunes to it. Additionally, when an item regains charges, the creature attuned to it learns how many charges it regained.",
"index": 9,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_magic-items/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_magic-items_attunement/?format=api",
"name": "Attunement",
"desc": "Some magic items require a creature to form a bond with them before their magical properties can be used. This bond is called attunement, and certain items have a prerequisite for it. If the prerequisite is a class, a creature must be a member of that class to attune to the item. (If the class is a spellcasting class, a monster qualifies if it has spell slots and uses that class’s spell list.) If the prerequisite is to be a spellcaster, a creature qualifies if it can cast at least one spell using its traits or features, not using a magic item or the like.\n\nWithout becoming attuned to an item that requires attunement, a creature gains only its nonmagical benefits, unless its description states otherwise. For example, a magic shield that requires attunement provides the benefits of a normal shield to a creature not attuned to it, but none of its magical properties.\n\nAttuning to an item requires a creature to spend a short rest focused on only that item while being in physical contact with it (this can’t be the same short rest used to learn the item’s properties). This focus can take the form of weapon practice (for a weapon), meditation (for a wondrous item), or some other appropriate activity. If the short rest is interrupted, the attunement attempt fails. Otherwise, at the end of the short rest, the creature gains an intuitive understanding of how to activate any magical properties of the item, including any necessary command words.\n\nAn item can be attuned to only one creature at a time, and a creature can be attuned to no more than three magic items at a time. Any attempt to attune to a fourth item fails; the creature must end its attunement to an item first. Additionally, a creature can’t attune to more than one copy of an item. For example, a creature can’t attune to more than one *ring of protection* at a time.\n\nA creature’s attunement to an item ends if the creature no longer satisfies the prerequisites for attunement, if the item has been more than 100 feet away for at least 24 hours, if the creature dies, or if another creature attunes to the item. A creature can also voluntarily end attunement by spending another short rest focused on the item, unless the item is cursed.",
"index": 1,
"initialHeaderLevel": 2,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_magic-items/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_magic-items_activating-an-item/?format=api",
"name": "Activating an Item",
"desc": "Activating some magic items requires a user to do something special, such as holding the item and uttering a command word. The description of each item category or individual item details how an item is activated. Certain items use the following rules for their activation.\n\nIf an item requires an action to activate, that action isn’t a function of the Use an Item action, so a feature such as the rogue’s Fast Hands can’t be used to activate the item.",
"index": 5,
"initialHeaderLevel": 2,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_magic-items/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_madness_madness-effects/?format=api",
"name": "Madness Effects",
"desc": "Madness can be short-term, long-term, or indefinite. Most relatively mundane effects impose short-term madness, which lasts for just a few minutes. More horrific effects or cumulative effects can result in long-term or indefinite madness.\n\nA character afflicted with **short-term madness** is subjected to an effect from the Short-Term Madness table for 1d10 minutes.\n\nA character afflicted with **long-term madness** is subjected to an effect from the Long-Term Madness table for 1d10 × 10 hours.\n\nA character afflicted with **indefinite madness** gains a new character flaw from the Indefinite Madness table that lasts until cured.\n\n**Short-Term Madness (table)**\n| d100 | Effect (lasts 1d10 minutes) |\n|--------|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|\n| 01-20 | The character retreats into his or her mind and becomes paralyzed. The effect ends if the character takes any damage. |\n| 21-30 | The character becomes incapacitated and spends the duration screaming, laughing, or weeping. |\n| 31-40 | The character becomes frightened and must use his or her action and movement each round to flee from the source of the fear. |\n| 41-50 | The character begins babbling and is incapable of normal speech or spellcasting. |\n| 51-60 | The character must use his or her action each round to attack the nearest creature. |\n| 61-70 | The character experiences vivid hallucinations and has disadvantage on ability checks. |\n| 71-75 | The character does whatever anyone tells him or her to do that isn't obviously self- destructive. |\n| 76-80 | The character experiences an overpowering urge to eat something strange such as dirt, slime, or offal. |\n| 81-90 | The character is stunned. |\n| 91-100 | The character falls unconscious. |\n\n**Long-Term Madness (table)**\n| d100 | Effect (lasts 1d10 × 10 hours) |\n|--------|--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|\n| 01-10 | The character feels compelled to repeat a specific activity over and over, such as washing hands, touching things, praying, or counting coins. |\n| 11-20 | The character experiences vivid hallucinations and has disadvantage on ability checks. |\n| 21-30 | The character suffers extreme paranoia. The character has disadvantage on Wisdom and Charisma checks. |\n| 31-40 | The character regards something (usually the source of madness) with intense revulsion, as if affected by the antipathy effect of the antipathy/sympathy spell. |\n| 41-45 | The character experiences a powerful delusion. Choose a potion. The character imagines that he or she is under its effects. |\n| 46-55 | The character becomes attached to a “lucky charm,” such as a person or an object, and has disadvantage on attack rolls, ability checks, and saving throws while more than 30 feet from it. |\n| 56-65 | The character is blinded (25%) or deafened (75%). |\n| 66-75 | The character experiences uncontrollable tremors or tics, which impose disadvantage on attack rolls, ability checks, and saving throws that involve Strength or Dexterity. |\n| 76-85 | The character suffers from partial amnesia. The character knows who he or she is and retains racial traits and class features, but doesn't recognize other people or remember anything that happened before the madness took effect. |\n| 86-90 | Whenever the character takes damage, he or she must succeed on a DC 15 Wisdom saving throw or be affected as though he or she failed a saving throw against the confusion spell. The confusion effect lasts for 1 minute. |\n| 91-95 | The character loses the ability to speak. |\n| 96-100 | The character falls unconscious. No amount of jostling or damage can wake the character. |\n\n**Indefinite Madness (table)**\n| d100 | Flaw (lasts until cured) |\n|--------|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|\n| 01-15 | “Being drunk keeps me sane.” |\n| 16-25 | “I keep whatever I find.” |\n| 26-30 | “I try to become more like someone else I know-adopting his or her style of dress, mannerisms, and name.” |\n| 31-35 | “I must bend the truth, exaggerate, or outright lie to be interesting to other people.” |\n| 36-45 | “Achieving my goal is the only thing of interest to me, and I'll ignore everything else to pursue it.” |\n| 46-50 | “I find it hard to care about anything that goes on around me.” |\n| 51-55 | “I don't like the way people judge me all the time.” |\n| 56-70 | “I am the smartest, wisest, strongest, fastest, and most beautiful person I know.” |\n| 71-80 | “I am convinced that powerful enemies are hunting me, and their agents are everywhere I go. I am sure they're watching me all the time.” |\n| 81-85 | “There's only one person I can trust. And only I can see this special friend.” |\n| 86-95 | “I can't take anything seriously. The more serious the situation, the funnier I find it.” |\n| 96-100 | “I've discovered that I really like killing people.” |\n## Curing Madness\n\nA _calm emotions_ spell can suppress the effects of madness, while a _lesser restoration_ spell can rid a character of a short-term or long-term madness. Depending on the source of the madness, _remove curse_ or _dispel evil_ might also prove effective. A _greater restoration_ spell or more powerful magic is required to rid a character of indefinite madness.",
"index": 2,
"initialHeaderLevel": 2,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_madness/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_madness_going-mad/?format=api",
"name": "Going Mad",
"desc": "Various magical effects can inflict madness on an otherwise stable mind. Certain spells, such as _contact other plane_ and _symbol_, can cause insanity, and you can use the madness rules here instead of the spell effects of those spells*.* Diseases, poisons, and planar effects such as psychic wind or the howling winds of Pandemonium can all inflict madness. Some artifacts can also break the psyche of a character who uses or becomes attuned to them.\n\nResisting a madness-inducing effect usually requires a Wisdom or Charisma saving throw.",
"index": 1,
"initialHeaderLevel": 2,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_madness/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_inspiration_using-inspiration/?format=api",
"name": "Using Inspiration",
"desc": "If you have inspiration, you can expend it when you make an attack roll, saving throw, or ability check. Spending your inspiration gives you advantage on that roll.\n\nAdditionally, if you have inspiration, you can reward another player for good roleplaying, clever thinking, or simply doing something exciting in the game. When another player character does something that really contributes to the story in a fun and interesting way, you can give up your inspiration to give that character inspiration.",
"index": 1,
"initialHeaderLevel": 2,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_inspiration/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_inspiration_gaining-inspiration/?format=api",
"name": "Gaining Inspiration",
"desc": "Your GM can choose to give you inspiration for a variety of reasons. Typically, GMs award it when you play out your personality traits, give in to the drawbacks presented by a flaw or bond, and otherwise portray your character in a compelling way. Your GM will tell you how you can earn inspiration in the game.\n\nYou either have inspiration or you don't - you can't stockpile multiple “inspirations” for later use.",
"index": 1,
"initialHeaderLevel": 2,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_inspiration/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_expenses_spellcasting-services/?format=api",
"name": "Spellcasting Services",
"desc": "People who are able to cast spells don't fall into the category of ordinary hirelings. It might be possible to find someone willing to cast a spell in exchange for coin or favors, but it is rarely easy and no established pay rates exist. As a rule, the higher the level of the desired spell, the harder it is to find someone who can cast it and the more it costs.\n\nHiring someone to cast a relatively common spell of 1st or 2nd level, such as *cure wounds* or *identify*, is easy enough in a city or town, and might cost 10 to 50 gold pieces (plus the cost of any expensive material components). Finding someone able and willing to cast a higher-level spell might involve traveling to a large city, perhaps one with a university or prominent temple. Once found, the spellcaster might ask for a service instead of payment-the kind of service that only adventurers can provide, such as retrieving a rare item from a dangerous locale or traversing a monster-infested wilderness to deliver something important to a distant settlement.",
"index": 5,
"initialHeaderLevel": 2,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_expenses/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_expenses_services/?format=api",
"name": "Services",
"desc": "Adventurers can pay nonplayer characters to assist them or act on their behalf in a variety of circumstances. Most such hirelings have fairly ordinary skills, while others are masters of a craft or art, and a few are experts with specialized adventuring skills.\n\nSome of the most basic types of hirelings appear on the Services table. Other common hirelings include any of the wide variety of people who inhabit a typical town or city, when the adventurers pay them to perform a specific task. For example, a wizard might pay a carpenter to construct an elaborate chest (and its miniature replica) for use in the *secret chest* spell. A fighter might commission a blacksmith to forge a special sword. A bard might pay a tailor to make exquisite clothing for an upcoming performance in front of the duke.\n\nOther hirelings provide more expert or dangerous services. Mercenary soldiers paid to help the adventurers take on a hobgoblin army are hirelings, as are sages hired to research ancient or esoteric lore. If a high-level adventurer establishes a stronghold of some kind, he or she might hire a whole staff of servants and agents to run the place, from a castellan or steward to menial laborers to keep the stables clean. These hirelings often enjoy a long-term contract that includes a place to live within the stronghold as part of the offered compensation.\n\nSkilled hirelings include anyone hired to perform a service that involves a proficiency (including weapon, tool, or skill): a mercenary, artisan, scribe, and so on. The pay shown is a minimum; some expert hirelings require more pay. Untrained hirelings are hired for menial work that requires no particular skill and can include laborers, porters, maids, and similar workers.\n\n**Services (table)**\n\n| Service Pay | Pay |\n|-------------------|---------------|\n| **_Coach cab_** | |\n| - Between towns | 3 cp per mile |\n| - Within a city | 1 cp |\n| **_Hireling_** | |\n| - Skilled | 2 gp per day |\n| - Untrained | 2 sp per day |\n| Messenger | 2 cp per mile |\n| Road or gate toll | 1 cp |\n| Ship's passage | 1 sp per mile |",
"index": 4,
"initialHeaderLevel": 2,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_expenses/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_expenses_self-sufficiency/?format=api",
"name": "Self-Sufficiency",
"desc": "> The expenses and lifestyles described here assume that you are spending your time between adventures in town, availing yourself of whatever services you can afford-paying for food and shelter, paying townspeople to sharpen your sword and repair your armor, and so on. Some characters, though, might prefer to spend their time away from civilization, sustaining themselves in the wild by hunting, foraging, and repairing their own gear.\n>\n> Maintaining this kind of lifestyle doesn't require you to spend any coin, but it is time-consuming. If you spend your time between adventures practicing a profession, you can eke out the equivalent of a poor lifestyle. Proficiency in the Survival skill lets you live at the equivalent of a comfortable lifestyle.",
"index": 2,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_expenses/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_expenses_lifestyle-expenses/?format=api",
"name": "Lifestyle Expenses",
"desc": "Lifestyle expenses provide you with a simple way to account for the cost of living in a fantasy world. They cover your accommodations, food and drink, and all your other necessities. Furthermore, expenses cover the cost of maintaining your equipment so you can be ready when adventure next calls.\n\nAt the start of each week or month (your choice), choose a lifestyle from the Expenses table and pay the price to sustain that lifestyle. The prices listed are per day, so if you wish to calculate the cost of your chosen lifestyle over a thirty-day period, multiply the listed price by 30. Your lifestyle might change from one period to the next, based on the funds you have at your disposal, or you might maintain the same lifestyle throughout your character's career.\n\nYour lifestyle choice can have consequences. Maintaining a wealthy lifestyle might help you make contacts with the rich and powerful, though you run the risk of attracting thieves. Likewise, living frugally might help you avoid criminals, but you are unlikely to make powerful connections.\n\n**Lifestyle Expenses (table)**\n\n| Lifestyle | Price/Day |\n|--------------|---------------|\n| Wretched | - |\n| Squalid | 1 sp |\n| Poor | 2 sp |\n| Modest | 1 gp |\n| Comfortable | 2 gp |\n| Wealthy | 4 gp |\n| Aristocratic | 10 gp minimum |\n\n**_Wretched._** You live in inhumane conditions. With no place to call home, you shelter wherever you can, sneaking into barns, huddling in old crates, and relying on the good graces of people better off than you. A wretched lifestyle presents abundant dangers. Violence, disease, and hunger follow you wherever you go. Other wretched people covet your armor, weapons, and adventuring gear, which represent a fortune by their standards. You are beneath the notice of most people.\n\n**_Squalid._** You live in a leaky stable, a mud-floored hut just outside town, or a vermin-infested boarding house in the worst part of town. You have shelter from the elements, but you live in a desperate and often violent environment, in places rife with disease, hunger, and misfortune. You are beneath the notice of most people, and you have few legal protections. Most people at this lifestyle level have suffered some terrible setback. They might be disturbed, marked as exiles, or suffer from disease.\n\n**_Poor._** A poor lifestyle means going without the comforts available in a stable community. Simple food and lodgings, threadbare clothing, and unpredictable conditions result in a sufficient, though probably unpleasant, experience. Your accommodations might be a room in a flophouse or in the common room above a tavern. You benefit from some legal protections, but you still have to contend with violence, crime, and disease. People at this lifestyle level tend to be unskilled laborers, costermongers, peddlers, thieves, mercenaries, and other disreputable types.\n\n**_Modest._** A modest lifestyle keeps you out of the slums and ensures that you can maintain your equipment. You live in an older part of town, renting a room in a boarding house, inn, or temple. You don't go hungry or thirsty, and your living conditions are clean, if simple. Ordinary people living modest lifestyles include soldiers with families, laborers, students, priests, hedge wizards, and the like.\n\n**_Comfortable._** Choosing a comfortable lifestyle means that you can afford nicer clothing and can easily maintain your equipment. You live in a small cottage in a middle-class neighborhood or in a private room at a fine inn. You associate with merchants, skilled tradespeople, and military officers.\n\n**_Wealthy._** Choosing a wealthy lifestyle means living a life of luxury, though you might not have achieved the social status associated with the old money of nobility or royalty. You live a lifestyle comparable to that of a highly successful merchant, a favored servant of the royalty, or the owner of a few small businesses. You have respectable lodgings, usually a spacious home in a good part of town or a comfortable suite at a fine inn. You likely have a small staff of servants.\n\n**_Aristocratic._** You live a life of plenty and comfort. You move in circles populated by the most powerful people in the community. You have excellent lodgings, perhaps a townhouse in the nicest part of town or rooms in the finest inn. You dine at the best restaurants, retain the most skilled and fashionable tailor, and have servants attending to your every need. You receive invitations to the social gatherings of the rich and powerful, and spend evenings in the company of politicians, guild leaders, high priests, and nobility. You must also contend with the highest levels of deceit and treachery. The wealthier you are, the greater the chance you will be drawn into political intrigue as a pawn or participant.",
"index": 1,
"initialHeaderLevel": 2,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_expenses/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_expenses_food-drink-lodging/?format=api",
"name": "Food, Drink, and Lodging",
"desc": "The Food, Drink, and Lodging table gives prices for individual food items and a single night's lodging. These prices are included in your total lifestyle expenses.\n\n**Food, Drink, and Lodging (table)**\n\n| Item | Cost |\n|--------------------------|-------|\n| **_Ale_** | |\n| - Gallon | 2 sp |\n| - Mug | 4 cp |\n| Banquet (per person) | 10 gp |\n| Bread, loaf | 2 cp |\n| Cheese, hunk | 1 sp |\n| **_Inn stay (per day)_** | |\n| - Squalid | 7 cp |\n| - Poor | 1 sp |\n| - Modest | 5 sp |\n| - Comfortable | 8 sp |\n| - Wealthy | 2 gp |\n| - Aristocratic | 4 gp |\n| **_Meals (per day)_** | |\n| - Squalid | 3 cp |\n| - Poor | 6 cp |\n| - Modest | 3 sp |\n| - Comfortable | 5 sp |\n| - Wealthy | 8 sp |\n| - Aristocratic | 2 gp |\n| Meat, chunk | 3 sp |\n| **_Wine_** | |\n| - Common (pitcher) | 2 sp |\n| - Fine (bottle) | 10 gp |",
"index": 3,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_expenses/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_environment_vision-and-light/?format=api",
"name": "Vision and Light",
"desc": "The most fundamental tasks of adventuring---noticing danger, finding hidden objects, hitting an enemy in combat, and targeting a spell, toname just a few---rely heavily on a character's ability to see. Darknessand other effects that obscure vision can prove a significant hindrance.\nA given area might be lightly or heavily obscured. In a **lightly obscured** area, such as dim light, patchy fog, or moderate foliage,creatures have disadvantage on Wisdom (Perception) checks that rely onsight.\nA **heavily obscured** area---such as darkness, opaque fog, or densefoliage---blocks vision entirely. A creature effectively suffers fromthe blinded condition when trying to see something in that area.\nThe presence or absence of light in an environment creates threecategories of illumination: bright light, dim light, and darkness.\n**Bright light** lets most creatures see normally. Even gloomy daysprovide bright light, as do torches, lanterns, fires, and other sourcesof illumination within a specific radius.\n**Dim light**, also called shadows, creates a lightly obscured area. Anarea of dim light is usually a boundary between a source of brightlight, such as a torch, and surrounding darkness. The soft light oftwilight and dawn also counts as dim light. A particularly brilliantfull moon might bathe the land in dim light.\n**Darkness** creates a heavily obscured area. Characters face darknessoutdoors at night (even most moonlit nights), within the confines of an unlit dungeon or a subterranean vault, or in an area of magical darkness.",
"index": 3,
"initialHeaderLevel": 2,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_environment/?format=api"
},
{
"url": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rules/srd_environment_truesight/?format=api",
"name": "Truesight",
"desc": "A creature with truesight can, out to a specific range, see in normal and magical darkness, see invisible creatures and objects,automatically detect visual illusions and succeed on saving throwsagainst them, and perceives the original form of a shapechanger or acreature that is transformed by magic. Furthermore, the creature can see into the Ethereal Plane.",
"index": 6,
"initialHeaderLevel": 3,
"document": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/documents/srd-2014/?format=api",
"ruleset": "https://api-beta.open5e.com/v2/rulesets/srd_environment/?format=api"
}
]
}